Moparts

73 d200 extended cab, 2 piece driveshaft service?

Posted By: Exit1965

73 d200 extended cab, 2 piece driveshaft service? - 10/01/18 06:41 AM

Hi all, I recently got a 73 d200 with extended cab. I'm fairly new to trucks.

It makes a clanking sound when dropped in gear, which sounds to me like a U joint. I crawled underneath expecting to see a regular driveshaft, but this one has a front then a center carrier then another in the back.

Can you all tell me what's involved if I want to service/refresh the entire thing -- from trans to the rear end? How many U joints are in there?

Do people ever convert to a single long driveshaft and do away with the center carrier? I'm sure there's a good reason they made 2 piece, I just don't know what it is.

Thanks from a truck newbie.
Posted By: moparmarks

Re: 73 d200 extended cab, 2 piece driveshaft service? - 10/01/18 03:41 PM

Should be 3 joints. The carrier bearing is pressed on. Might just pull it and take it to a driveshaft shop is you don't have a press.
I wouldn't replace it with a single shaft. Would change the pinion angle relationship.
Posted By: Guitar Jones

Re: 73 d200 extended cab, 2 piece driveshaft service? - 10/01/18 05:38 PM

You should be able to see and count the joints for yourself. As for a one piece shaft? You can only make them so long.
Posted By: Jwilli500

Re: 73 d200 extended cab, 2 piece driveshaft service? - 10/01/18 06:51 PM

Plus the 2 piece driveshaft keeps more of the driveshaft tucked up for better clearance.
Posted By: W.I.N. Racing

Re: 73 d200 extended cab, 2 piece driveshaft service? - 10/01/18 11:26 PM

Originally Posted By Guitar Jones
You should be able to see and count the joints for yourself. As for a one piece shaft? You can only make them so long.

What??? do his own research...
Posted By: mgoblue9798

Re: 73 d200 extended cab, 2 piece driveshaft service? - 10/05/18 03:53 PM