Moparts

School Me On Hydroboost Brake Systems

Posted By: 440child

School Me On Hydroboost Brake Systems - 07/25/14 02:59 AM

What's up, all. I've heard them mentioned on here, but I'd like to know more. I'm considering a big block swap on my '85 and would like to get all the info I can, like, how do they work,is there a complete system available for my truck, or where do I go if I want to get available parts to put a system together. Or is it more trouble than it's worth? I've heard that it's better to do this than the power brake booster/tall valve cover fight. I'd like to keep some sort of power assisted brake system if possible. Thaks in advance for any and all info/opinions.
Posted By: CTD5.9

Re: School Me On Hydroboost Brake Systems - 07/25/14 04:13 AM

I'm no expert on this, but from what I know you replace your vacuum brake booster with one that uses hydraulics. It receives that hydraulic pressure from your power steering pump. The 94-02?? I think Diesel rams used a hydroboost system but there are aftermarket ones as well. it's as simple as plumbing the lines in I think.
Posted By: therocks

Re: School Me On Hydroboost Brake Systems - 07/25/14 02:29 PM

LOts of GM vans used hydro boost also.They arent hard to miss in the junkyards.Just look for hydro lines going to the booster.The PS pump should be adaptable to a Mopar.Rocky
Posted By: 3hundred

Re: School Me On Hydroboost Brake Systems - 07/25/14 03:56 PM

I think I remember, but not certain, seeing some mid '80's D350 trucks with factory hydroboost setups. Might be worth checking.

Robert
Posted By: dogdays

Re: School Me On Hydroboost Brake Systems - 07/25/14 06:57 PM