Moparts

Buying Out a Lease Vehicle---Anything to Look Out For?

Posted By: Powerflow

Buying Out a Lease Vehicle---Anything to Look Out For? - 02/27/23 09:47 PM

My cousin has a GMAC lease on a GMC Terrain that's ending soon and I'm thinking about buying it. I assume the basic sequence is for him to buy it at his buyout price, then I buy it from him. I've never done this before and am interested in anything I should be aware of or look out for. I realize the dealer will try to steer the deal into a retail sale but I want to avoid spending extra money if possible. Any ideas appreciated. Thanks...
Posted By: massdaytona

Re: Buying Out a Lease Vehicle---Anything to Look Out For? - 02/27/23 10:18 PM

lmiddle of 2022 when used car prices were crazed, my son's lease on his 2019 arcadia was up - he used 18k of the 36k miles on the lease... was absolutely unmarked, not a ding nor scratch ... the buyout was 26k (plus tax in ny) - so the buyout was near to 29k - the bluebook was 36k - i called the dealer and asked what deal can we do , as we have a lot of equity in the car... he said according to the gmac lease agreement a gm dealer cannot buy the leased vehicle - so i called a few place i found doing an internet search - the local volvo dealer said he would take the car off our hands (we had paid all the 36mos payments), and give us 3500 cash... it turns out that a dealer does not pay the ny sales tax - i told the gm dealer i was selling the car to the volvo dealer , and would probably buy a ford suv or a jeep -

somehow the gmc dealer gave me 3500 bucks as a downpayment for my sons 2022 arcadia.... didn't ask how he did it, nor did i care...

moral is there are no rules....
Posted By: 67vertman

Re: Buying Out a Lease Vehicle---Anything to Look Out For? - 02/27/23 11:14 PM

Originally Posted by Powerflow