Moparts

Removing Undercoating

Posted By: Erik

Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 04:50 PM

Has anyone ever used the Eastwood undercoating remover? Is it any good/worth the price?
Posted By: sixpackbird

Re: Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 05:12 PM

A heat gun and paint thinner works well.
Heat up the undercoating with the heat gun and scrap it off with a putty knife, you don't need a lot of heat to soften the undercoating. Once the you have the bulk of it scrapped off and the surface is cool, use paint thinner and a rag to remove whats left.
Posted By: burdar

Re: Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 05:56 PM

Gary(Challenger 1) should be along shortly to show you his prefered method of undercoating removal. Pretty slick.
Posted By: Challenger 1

Re: Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 06:21 PM

Quote:

Has anyone ever used the Eastwood undercoating remover? Is it any good/worth the price?

Hello,
No I have never used it before. Is it flamable? Must not be the more I think about it. Didn't go to Eastwood yet to read about it.
How much do you want to remove and is the car on a rotissierie?
Posted By: HPMike

Re: Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 06:22 PM

They should do a reality show about this job. If you aren't doing it on a rotisserie, that job makes the crab fishermen look like a bunch of pusssies.

MB

Re: Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 06:23 PM

Quote:

They should do a reality show about this job. If you aren't doing it on a rotisserie, that job makes the crab fishermen look like a bunch of pusssies.

MB

Re: Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 07:59 PM

Quote:

Quote:

Hello,
No I have never used it before. Is it flamable? Must not be the more I think about it. Didn't go to Eastwood yet to read about it.

I want to remove it all. Yes, the car is now on a rotisserie. I wasn't about to be on my back srcaping that stuff off!
Posted By: jbc426

Re: Removing Undercoating - 08/09/11 08:47 PM