Moparts

a12 hood

Posted By: stickman

a12 hood - 03/27/22 12:25 AM

Who makes a good repo A12 hood? Also does anyone make a bolt one using factory hood hinges ? Thanks Guys.
Posted By: WORKER_BEE

Re: a12 hood - 04/01/22 01:23 AM

I have no experience with this company or its products....just giving you a link.

http://www.usbody.com/
Posted By: A12

Re: a12 hood - 04/01/22 04:57 AM

Year One in the past made the best and closest to the original A12 Lift-Off-Hood IMO. In fact it was so close to the original that it was passed off I'm sure as an original many times. The only way to tell a Yr1 from an original was IT WAS WAY BETTER MADE as far as the under hood fiberglass mat build quality laugh2 The original hood's underside fiberglass looks like I would have done it in my garage, not very nice. Anyway I just checked to see if Year One still sold an A12 hood and they do have one listed but not available at this time. It's been a while since I've checked Yr1 or have heard anything about this hood or if it is like the one they sold since the 90's ??? Here's the link. Let us know if you find anything out about the Year One A12 hood. Oh and also the Year One A12 hood was not the best hood to add hood hinges to but I think it's been done. There's a thin A12 style hood that used to be made by a company in Cocoa Florida (forgot the name) that is really nice and was actually made to accept standard hood hinges.

Year One A12 hood link:
https://www.yearone.com/Product/chrysler-b-body/lh1002#prettyPhoto

Mike
Posted By: topside

Re: a12 hood - 04/01/22 03:02 PM

Check with AAR Fiberglass in FL - Titusville, IIRC.

Had one of their hoods (A12 style on a Duster) - it was pretty nice and accepted hinges & latch.

Re: a12 hood - 04/01/22 05:53 PM

Originally Posted by topside

Had one of their hoods (A12 style on a Duster) - it was pretty nice and accepted hinges & latch.

Yes up that's the one in Florida I was trying to remember, really nicely made and made for hood hinges too.