Moparts

How to get rid of this ugly sunroof hole?

Posted By: hunterstroble

How to get rid of this ugly sunroof hole? - 11/27/11 07:00 PM

I have a '73 challenger. It has the horrible 70's sun roof cut into it. They missed the support. Can this be welded up? I'm a pretty good welder and have all the tools I need. Now I know I'll get a"just put a skin on it!" But that is over 600.00, so if it is possible to weld it that would be worth a shot. Has anyone actually welded one and had it come out ok. Thank you!
Posted By: Dave Watt

Re: How to get rid of this ugly sunroof hole? - 11/27/11 07:06 PM

Anything is possible when talking sheetmetal replacement. Keep in mind the roof has a curvature to it, so a similarly curved piece will be needed for donor material. Some filler will be needed to block sand out really slick. After priming and painting it will look great. What I don't think you'll like is that once you start driving it, the roof flexes, the sun beats down on it, the filler shrinks, the repaired will show.
If it's just a driver quality car, go for it.
Posted By: Kern Dog

Re: How to get rid of this ugly sunroof hole? - 11/27/11 07:09 PM

I welded over a sunroof in a Duster, then put a Vinyl top over it. It turned out GREAT!
The trick for me was to use an air powered flange tool. It created a recess in the sunroof plug so that when it was installed from underneath, it sat flush with the rest of the roof. I repeatedly stitch welded until it was fully welded, then primer, filler and plenty of sanding. I may have been able to skip the vinyl top, but I was trying to make the car look as close to original as possible.
Posted By: 1_WILD_RT

Re: How to get rid of this ugly sunroof hole? - 11/27/11 07:12 PM