Moparts

Painting questions...

Posted By: 4boxers4

Painting questions... - 11/23/11 08:35 PM

What steps do you typically take when cleaning up before applying a color base. Can you water wash? only over primered parts or bodywork too?
I used some thinner to clean over my epoxy primer but when I shot some Dupont Hot Hues over it...there were spots that wrinkled. I didn't wait alot of time for the thinner to flash off in some areas, before painting, I am assuming. The paint was a couple years old, stored inside so I don't think that was it. There used be to some product named prep clean or something, people used to use.
I need to repair those locations and my plan was to sand down to the primer layer, then scuff the color surrounding it with 800 grit, then wipe and reshoot. The Hot Hues thinner is special so maybe I should wipe with that before re-applying?
Any tips or pointers would be greatly appreciated. Step by step layman's terms works best as I am a motivated novice. Thanks!
Posted By: RodStRace

Re: Painting questions... - 11/23/11 09:01 PM

novice here too.

Wash and rinse well.
Try not to touch it with anything from here on out, except as listed. No laying tape on it, putting your hands on it, etc.

Make sure it's completely dry!
Mask it.
Put it in the booth.
cover the tires.
Wipe it down with wax and grease remover.
Tack cloth.
Spray.
Posted By: AeroMonte

Re: Painting questions... - 11/24/11 01:55 AM