Moparts

Saw this distributor, has anyone went this route?

Posted By: Osyman

Saw this distributor, has anyone went this route? - 07/31/11 05:18 PM

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/DODGE-PLY...#ht_12784wt_948

It replaces everything except your coil. $45

I'm not an expert on ignition systems, could someone explain this to me, and if it's worth my time? I'm having trouble getting my engine to start and I know I'm not getting spark, thinking of going to something simple like this.
Posted By: teflon

Re: Saw this distributor, has anyone went this route? - 07/31/11 05:24 PM

$44.50 ???? Seems to good to be true.
Posted By: BulletBob

Re: Saw this distributor, has anyone went this route? - 07/31/11 06:14 PM

A friend of mine has one in his Valiant & it seems to work good. He did the full Hot Rod Power Tour this year without a problem & drives everyday. The ebay description sums it up well. It's much like a MSD ready to run distributor. The GM design module is a great design. Your older Jaguar mid 90's 7 back used a GM module as well as a other brands. Jag mounted the module almost like the one in the pic.
Posted By: Osyman

Re: Saw this distributor, has anyone went this route? - 07/31/11 07:01 PM

So I get an accel supercoil, 8 mm wires, regap my plugs, 12v ignition wire and distributor wire to +coil, other distrib wire to -coil, unhook ballast and ecu and go?
Posted By: TJP

Re: Saw this distributor, has anyone went this route? - 07/31/11 07:43 PM

That is not what I would call an HEI unit. The GM hei units had the coil pack built in and were a completely self contained unit requiring only 1 twelve volt connection. The other advantage to the actual GM HEI unit is you can get parts for them ANYWHERE!!!
I'd look around for something similiar to this
http://www.summitracing.com/search/Depar...s/?autoview=SKU
Might be able to find a cheaper one with some effort
Posted By: mikemee1331

Re: Saw this distributor, has anyone went this route? - 07/31/11 09:35 PM