Moparts

What the HELL is that squeak??

Posted By: Pat_Whalen

What the HELL is that squeak?? - 06/01/10 11:42 PM

Figured I'd pose this question before I commence ripping out the rest of my hair.

My 440, after it gets warmed up, will squeak from the inside, and it will get louder/faster as RPM goes up, and then slow down when I drop to idle.

The only things I can say thus far is that if I put my ear over the carb, you can definitely hear it coming from inside it. I can't think of anything that would be squeaking in a carb, but then again, I'm no rocket scientist.

The sound is like that of two metal parts rubbing very quickly and sharply on one another. I can't explain it any other way. I might be inclined to record the sound later and post it up if my description doesn't net some results.

I just need to know what my next course of action should be. Pull carb? Pull intake? Pull valve covers?

Let me know please.

Thanks a lot,

Pat
Posted By: 440challenger

Re: What the HELL is that squeak?? - 06/01/10 11:45 PM

air leak?
Posted By: CavA3R4

Re: What the HELL is that squeak?? - 06/01/10 11:54 PM

I had a starter start to engage my ring gear and it was a high pitched squeal. Stick your head under the car by the drivers side front wheel. Other then that, use an automotive stethoscope and disconnect one fan belt at time and check the alternator, waterpump, power steering, etc.
Good luck and keep us posted.
HTH
Bob

Re: What the HELL is that squeak?? - 06/01/10 11:56 PM

Quote:

I had a starter start to engage my ring gear and it was a high pitched squeal. Stick your head under the car by the drivers side front wheel. Other then that, use an automotive stethoscope and disconnect one fan belt at time and check the alternator, waterpump, power steering, etc.
Good luck and keep us posted.
HTH
Bob