Moparts

Cast Iron Max Wedge headers

Posted By: Real-Fury

Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/16/09 06:01 PM

Just wondering how the cast iron max wedge headers compare performancewise to standard aftermarket tubular headers. This would strickly be on a street machine. Car has 440 engine, mild performance cam, single 4bbl, A/T and fitted with max wedge headers and complete max wedge exhaust including factory cutouts. At least this is what I'm being told. I'm a rookie at this.

Butch
Posted By: ramcharger1964

Re: Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/16/09 08:57 PM

I would like to know this as well

I have a wedge motor with TTI 2" and full max wedge system but would like to know how much I would lose with a pair of the stock headers.
Posted By: DaytonaTurbo

Re: Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/16/09 09:07 PM

Hey lots of guys are making good power with the regular 440 HP manifolds, some good 500hp builds there. I would say with those cast headers you wouldn't be losing out on much at all, other than weight!
Posted By: Pool Fixer

Re: Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/17/09 01:32 AM

the only problem is fitting them in the car
Posted By: pishta

Re: Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/17/09 01:36 AM

I would jump at that chance. No Tube header clearance issues, no header noise, no burned gaskets, sign me up. Too band I got a LA block now.
Posted By: 62maxwgn

Re: Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/17/09 02:25 AM

Quote:

the only problem is fitting them in the car

Actually they fit better and have more clearance than HP manifolds.

Attached picture 5672468-P7070006.JPG
Posted By: Ply72rr

Re: Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/17/09 02:53 AM

Will these fit on 68-72 B-Body? Anyone tried?

Re: Cast Iron Max Wedge headers - 12/17/09 03:09 AM

Up to 70 but you will have clearance problems with power brake booster.If you mill 3/16" off the manifold to head surface,driver side will fit,passenger side,no problems.Don't know about 71 and later.
Posted By: rbstroker