Moparts

Need advice 360 timing chain cam/crank slightly off

Posted By: 340challconvert

Need advice 360 timing chain cam/crank slightly off - 11/01/22 06:48 PM

Need advice 360 timing chain cam/crank slightly off

Purchased a 360 from Mabco to put into my A66 340 Challenger short term while I pull the 340 for a rebuild.
I bought a hp version with flat top pistons and installed hp cam sited as a 272 cam
Cam specs; 272-272 duration 454 lift 110 lobe separation 52 degrees overlap, 216 216 duration @ .50
Power range 1500-5200 Considered the largest "stock" cam for this engine

In going over the engine for parts install; the timing marks are slightly off.
I call the manufacturer and he stated to leave the chain as is.

Pistons are flat top 30 over, no valve notches, piston to deck measurement is not a stock (deep in the hole) 360 with the higher compression pistons it measures out at about .087 below deck with number 1 piston at TDC.

I am no expert, and I have installed cams years back always aligning timing marks; is there a reason for the manufacturer to alter the timing in this manner with this hp cam and flat top piston?
Pic of timing chain sprockets and Number 1 piston at TDC
Any thoughts appreciated.

Attached picture IMG_8963.jpg
Posted By: CSK

Re: Need advice 360 timing chain cam/crank slightly off - 11/01/22 06:49 PM

You need to degree the cam with a degree wheel
Posted By: stumpy

Re: Need advice 360 timing chain cam/crank slightly off - 11/01/22 08:20 PM

It looks to me like the cam and crank aren't in a center line. Put a straight edge from the center of the cam bolt to the cam dot and center of the crank bolt and see if they are lined. Are you sure you are top dead center?
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: Need advice 360 timing chain cam/crank slightly off - 11/01/22 09:18 PM

Originally Posted by csk
You need to degree the cam with a degree wheel
iagree
The first solid roller cam I bought and installed for a customer was ground 10 degrees retarded puke