Moparts

Power master Alternator

Posted By: stroked470

Power master Alternator - 10/03/19 02:13 PM

I have a 65 Coronet that I recently bought and I am trying to sort out my last issue with it. I put on a set of dual electric fans and 26 inch radiator to keep it cool and settled that issue. My first night out with it the voltage regulator went out. It had a stock type points regulator on it. Right now it has a square back parts store alternator on it. I switched to a stock looking electronic voltage regulator yesterday and it is charging again, KINDA. It is only showing around 12.6-12.8 at the battery at idle, if I rev it up it goes up to 14.3-14.5 but right back down at idle. This is with the fans off. I have a new Power Master 17509 75 amp alternator to put on it but am I going to accomplish anything by doing this. Power master instructions also show to ground the extra field terminal. Right now I just want to get out and drive before the season is up but 12-8 volts without the fans on is not going to cut it. I guess my questions are.
Do I need to install a 1 wire alternator with internal regulator.
Do I need to use the one I have and ground the extra field wire.
Do I need to run a 8 gauge wire directly to the battery.
Posted By: TJP

Re: Power master Alternator - 10/03/19 03:20 PM

It is only showing around 12.6-12.8 at the battery at idle, if I rev it up it goes up to 14.3-14.5 but right back down at idle. This is with the fans off.

This is normal and is due to the speed of the alternator / pulley ratios

I have a new Power Master 17509 75 amp alternator to put on it but am I going to accomplish anything by doing this. Power master instructions also show to ground the extra field terminal.

First question is what do the fans draw current wise?

Then add headlights, A/C, and other things that cause a higher draw current wise.
Now you have established what size (output wise) alternator will be needed.