Moparts

Mopar BB Intake manifold swap? torque specs?

Posted By: MrBelvedere2

Mopar BB Intake manifold swap? torque specs? - 03/04/09 08:59 AM

I am about to swap my 2 barrel cast iron intake on my 361 for an Edelbrock DP4B and 600 cfm carb i scored. I got my gasket kit from napa and there is only a 1 peice valley tray? do you use sealer with this or do you just torque it down and it forms a crush seal? I have never done an intake swap on a BB before so excuse my ignorance. I also would like to know the pattern to tighten the bolts and torque spec's for the intake. so if you would be so kind to go over the procedure for me that would be awesome..thank you!
Posted By: 70Cuda383

Re: Mopar BB Intake manifold swap? torque specs? - 03/04/09 09:09 AM

it seems that there's about 900 different ways to do this. my engine gasket kit came with 4 gaskets, and the book calls for 1 between the head and the valley tray, and another between the valley tray and the intake. to me, this seemed excessive, and what I did was used RTV to seal the valley pan to the head, and a paper gasket to seal the intake to the pan, with RTV to hold it in place on the intake until I got the bolts in and lined up.

...or was that paper between head and pan, and RTV between intake and pan?

crap. now I can't remember!

just make sure it's sealed well and has no leaks!
Posted By: therocks

Re: Mopar BB Intake manifold swap? torque specs? - 03/04/09 02:38 PM

I always use just the tins.No paper.Only place for RTV is at the very corners of the heads and where the hold down are.Tighten to 25 Ft Lbs.I just start in the middle and switch from one side to the other going to a frt then a rear.Just snug them down then tighten all the way.Been doing it for over 40 years and never a leak.The papers IMHO are a total waste and some dummys answer to make simple complicated.Ma didnt use them and I dont.Oh I always use antisieze on the bolts.Rocky
Posted By: MoparforLife