Moparts

Torque numbers for aluminum heads

Posted By: fal3

Torque numbers for aluminum heads - 04/07/17 07:53 PM

I need the torque numbers for attaching intake manifold, headers, rocker arm shafts, and spark plugs to 440 Source aluminum heads (engine is a 440). I've searched the net, and all I'm getting are factory spec torque numbers for the iron heads. Did a Moparts search and received the same results. I've seen the torque numbers on posts @ Moparts, but my memory is playing tricks on me, and I can't remember how I stumbled upon the torque numbers.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm under the impression that aluminum heads use torque numbers that are slightly less than the factory torque numbers.
Thanks in advance.
Posted By: PurpleBeeper

Re: Torque numbers for aluminum heads - 04/07/17 09:35 PM

I'm no expert, but I think all the torque numbers are the same as with iron heads. I've heard to make sure you use steel washers under bolts so the bolt heads don't start scratching the aluminum.
Posted By: bee1971

Re: Torque numbers for aluminum heads - 04/07/17 10:10 PM

Edelbrock

Instructions

http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive/misc/tech-center/install/5000/5090.pdf
Posted By: therocks

Re: Torque numbers for aluminum heads - 04/08/17 03:57 AM

IIRC I went to 75 on my Stealths.Been on since they first came out and no problems.Did use ARP bolts and lube and 3 steps.Rocky
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: Torque numbers for aluminum heads - 04/08/17 06:22 AM

Make sure to use antisieze on the spark plug threads every time they get installed, every time up up
On the rocker arm shafts I use a inch lb. torque wrench instead of a 1/2 inch foot pound wrench, 25x12=300 inch lbs. up
Posted By: Rockland71GTX

Re: Torque numbers for aluminum heads - 04/08/17 04:39 PM

Did you call 440source? That would be the best place to get the answer.

Re: Torque numbers for aluminum heads - 04/08/17 04:52 PM