Moparts

Graveyard carz, Prepaint technique. Paint explain, opinions

Posted By: modelmakerinc

Graveyard carz, Prepaint technique. Paint explain, opinions - 03/31/17 12:50 PM

I realize that most shops or painters have a manner of doing things. I'm not sure I understand the principle behind "prepaint" and I have heard thier painter say they use single stage for the engine compartment and jambs, they use this prepaint as a base for a 2 stage finish work.

Opinions and info of the technique welcome.
Posted By: Mr T2U

Re: Graveyard carz, Prepaint technique. Paint explain, opinions - 03/31/17 01:34 PM

i am a PPG certified painter with 30+ years of experience.
i am just giving my OPINION on the subject.

i USED TO "pre-paint" cars in the past.
i did this because the lower solids, cheaper, materials would soak down.
by soak down i mean they look glossy after the paint job, but after a few months or years exposed to the elements the paint would loose it's gloss.
if you painted it, gave it a good bake job in the booth, then repainted it again. the gloss would really hold up.
the problem with doing it that way is if you use cheaper under coats the top coat looses it's durability. like building a really nice house on a sand base. no matter how nice the part you see is, it's only as good as the foundation it sits on.

now after using the very high solids modern products for over a year now i don't see the need to do it that way anymore.
i just repaired the first car i painted with the newer products a week ago. the owner really didn't take care of the car just drove it. he visits a commercial car wash every other week. never waxed it. just drove it like most people do.
i honestly have to say the area where i repaired looked as good as the day it left the shop last year.