Moparts

Upper Ball Joint question

Posted By: 1fastrunner

Upper Ball Joint question - 02/12/09 11:14 PM

Thanks for all your suggestions in helping to loosen the top. I finally accomplished that, but now what? Do I just pry the top out? Sorry for the dumb questions, but I've never done this before.
Jim
Posted By: RoyceFlo73

Re: Upper Ball Joint question - 02/12/09 11:17 PM

Auto zone or Advance Auto rent (for free) a ball joint press. It costs about 140 up front, but you have 90 days to bring it back and get all the money up front.

Then you just follow the directions on the box, and it will press the ball joints out of the UCA

This isn't a scheem, it's a rental tool program they run, so that they can sell parts. if you didnt have the tools they couldn't sell the parts.
Posted By: OzHemi

Re: Upper Ball Joint question - 02/12/09 11:24 PM

Once you unscrew the upper ball joint, it should just fall out
Posted By: Neil

Re: Upper Ball Joint question - 02/12/09 11:27 PM

Not familiar with your year and model of car, but on my 70 dart the upper ball joints just screw in and out of the upper control arms. Prying them out would be a no-no. You would ruin your chances of the new ones threading in properly.

If your new ball joints are threaded then just keep turning on the old ones until they come out.
Posted By: RoyceFlo73

Re: Upper Ball Joint question - 02/12/09 11:30 PM

I had to press my ball joints in. They weren't threaded, they had parallel grooves that I had to press out.
Posted By: Neil

Re: Upper Ball Joint question - 02/12/09 11:35 PM

I assume the poster is talking about the road runner in his signature. That being the case I can't say for sure how the ball joints are attached on that type of car. I'd need to see them or at least have a service manual in front of me. I always thought mopars had a threaded upper ball joint.

Re: Upper Ball Joint question - 02/12/09 11:45 PM