Moparts

440 Fluctuating Idle Speed

Posted By: Nimbus426

440 Fluctuating Idle Speed - 07/09/14 03:38 AM

Hey guys, I have a '73 model 440 that suddenly wants to drop from around 1200 rpm to about 500 rpm while idling and then return back to 1200 and then drop again. If I put it in drive the rpm will drop all the way down to about 300. I tried putting new plugs and wires in. Now it just does it more rapidly. I used the Champion Copper Plus RJ12YC plugs that did seem a little shorter than the Autolites that I took out, but they were the recommended plugs from Auto Zone. I've never had this problem before. I put a light on the engine and got it adjusted where it sounds pretty smooth and then the rpm will just plummet. I thought maybe the fuel filter, but it is fairly new. I haven't tried cleaning the carb. Any thoughts would be appreciated. I'm still a rookie when it comes to engines just fair warning
Thanks!
Posted By: ademon

Re: 440 Fluctuating Idle Speed - 07/09/14 03:47 AM

What carb, where is the timing at?? I would up the initial timing then lower the idle screw for starters. Could be another problem like jumped timing chain? Need more info
Posted By: RapidRobert

Re: 440 Fluctuating Idle Speed - 07/09/14 04:53 AM

Take out the idle mixture screws (count the # of turns to easily return them to their orig position) and shoot a 3 second blast of starting fluid into each hole (need the thin red straw to get it in there good) then replace the screws. If that ain't it then I would go thru the carb

Re: 440 Fluctuating Idle Speed - 07/11/14 02:50 AM