Moparts

Putting bushings in ductile iron rockers?

Posted By: vern73

Putting bushings in ductile iron rockers? - 08/05/13 01:40 PM

Anyone ever done this or had it done? I have a set of 1.6 Cranes I hate to get rid of but they are galled some on the bottom. I am a machinist by trade but wouldn't know which bushings to order. Thanks
Posted By: lewtot184

Re: Putting bushings in ductile iron rockers? - 08/05/13 01:59 PM

i was thinking RAS or Drovak did the bushing thing. basically they put a .875 o.d.- .75 i.d. bronze bushing in the rocker and use a .750" shaft with some spacers to go between the shafts and shaft stands. being a machinist it wouldn't be difficult for you to fab your own set up. the only issue i see is choice of shaft material for strength and being compatible with the bronze.
Posted By: JohnRR

Re: Putting bushings in ductile iron rockers? - 08/05/13 02:29 PM

I think it's that Dvorak sells the kit that downsizes the ID, RAS bores out the rockers and installs a bushing that fits the stock shaft. RAS will also correct any geometry issues.
Posted By: Stanton

Re: Putting bushings in ductile iron rockers? - 08/05/13 02:30 PM

You hone the rocker to close to .936. You press in a .936 o.d. x .062 wall bushing and hone it to size. What you end up with is a bushing with about a .030 wall.

You don't use thin shafts ... for all that effort and expense you could buy the most expensive rockers on the market and still be ahead!!
Posted By: WO23Coronet

Re: Putting bushings in ductile iron rockers? - 08/05/13 05:07 PM

If you're going to bore the rockers out, what would you use as a reference to keep everything square? I have a set of Crane 1.5's that are galled and have been considering doing the same thing. I was thinking of using the adjuster nut hole to hold it in a jig, and then dialing in the bore and then clamping it? Does anyone know how Dvorak and RAS does it?
Posted By: lewtot184

Re: Putting bushings in ductile iron rockers? - 08/05/13 05:20 PM