Moparts

Self Learning EFI Systems

Posted By: Fastback67

Self Learning EFI Systems - 06/09/13 11:44 PM

So... I have a 383, a 400, and a 440, hanging around my garage awaiting rebuild. I have been toying with the idea of mounting one of those new self learning EFI systems (MSD ATOMIC, EZ EFI) on one of them.
I know that in the past, there have been a great number of attempts and failures with the older style user programmable EFI systems. Whether this was due to operator error, or simple capability issues I do not know, as I have had no first hand experience with any of these conversion systems myself.

Anywho... I was just wondering if anyone here could shed some light/experience on the subject. These new self contained, self learning systems from MSD, EZ EFI and the like, seem to be almost foolproof, but you know what they say... If it sounds to good to be true, it usually is.

Any and all advice or comments would be welcome.
Thanks!
Posted By: redmist

Re: Self Learning EFI Systems - 06/10/13 05:10 AM

I went with Megasquirt, and am into my whole setup for less than the EZ-EFI and the likes. The plus side, is mine is full sequential port injected spark, and fuel.

The down is it takes some time to get done! Glad I did it though, It's way more tunable, and option packed compared to the bolt on systems.

ETA:

It "self learns" I drove around all day today, and let the system tweek the VE tables itself.
Posted By: JonGottaDemonDad

Re: Self Learning EFI Systems - 06/10/13 05:31 AM

How much time did you run the auto tune for? Did it take a few hours? I have a megasquirt and found it to be a lot of work. With a prebuilt system you can bolt and go. With the megasquirt how much time do you expect if this guy went with the megasquirt before he would be driving the car? Did it take you days to install and tune or weeks, months?

Craig

Re: Self Learning EFI Systems - 06/10/13 06:02 AM

It took me months...