Moparts

Question about heat crossover on a 360

Posted By: Badge

Question about heat crossover on a 360 - 04/24/13 09:54 PM

I am new to small block Mopars and need some advice. I have attached a link to a photo of the 360 I am taking apart. It has a Mopar high rise single plane intake. Part of what I assume is a heat crossover port on each cylinder head is exposed and full of debris. Is this OK? Also, this intake has no coolant crossover at the rear. Is this OK? Thanks

ttp://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b65/Badge01/001-2_zpsb07fbeb5.jpg
Posted By: 3hundred

Re: Question about heat crossover on a 360 - 04/24/13 10:07 PM

Quote:

I am new to small block Mopars and need some advice. I have attached a link to a photo of the 360 I am taking apart. It has a Mopar high rise single plane intake. Part of what I assume is a heat crossover port on each cylinder head is exposed and full of debris. Is this OK? Also, this intake has no coolant crossover at the rear. Is this OK? Thanks

It's not okay, clean it out. Rear coolant crossovers didn't start until 1985, if I remember right that was to help combat the crossover plugging up. I don't know of any aftermarket manifold that incorporates the rear crossover.

Robert

Re: Question about heat crossover on a 360 - 04/24/13 10:30 PM

Thanks Robert. Once I clean them out, how do I cover them? This manifold does not do the job.
Posted By: 3hundred

Re: Question about heat crossover on a 360 - 04/24/13 10:34 PM

Oh, finally found the picture. Never seen a manifold which covers that portion of the head, don't worry about it unless you just want to clean it. I thought we were talking about the crossover proper.

Robert

Attached picture 7681152-001-2_zpsb07fbeb5.jpg
Posted By: Supercuda

Re: Question about heat crossover on a 360 - 04/24/13 11:03 PM

Not sure about that rear coolant cross over, my 87 Diplomat never had one. Maybe it was an EFI thing in trucks?