Moparts

Replacing Wheel Cylinders... Rusted Bolts and Lines.

Posted By: MuuMuu101

Replacing Wheel Cylinders... Rusted Bolts and Lines. - 10/05/12 05:07 AM

I know this sounds stupid (kind of embarrassing) and I sound like a total Noob, but where would be the proper place to jack a car if I'd like to remove one of the wheels? Do I jack it on the frame near the tire or should I jack it on some sort of center line on the car? Because if I jack it on the side of the car wouldn't it cause the frame to twist? And do I have to jack it till the tire is off the ground or to the point where the tire isn't holding as much load as the other wheels? And do I put the stand in and remove the jack before or after I take the wheel off. Gosh, please bare with me and my ignorance. (Yes, I already purged the jack)

GO TO LATER POSTS AFTER ALL THE PROPER WAY TO JACK A CAR STUFF!!!
Posted By: Jim_Lusk

Re: Proper Way to Jack a Car... - 10/05/12 05:11 AM

It kind of depends on your work area and what you are doing. You won't permanently twist the car lifting a corner unless the car is suspect to begin with. You need to get the tire off the ground and ALWAYS put the stand in before you pull the wheel, BUT loosen the lugnuts a half turn or so before you jack it up unless you have an impact.

I like to jack up A-bodies from the center of the k-member in the front or under the differential in the rear. You can jack up a corner from the sub-frame, BUT make sure you are using the sub-frame and not the rocker panel or something else.

Re: Proper Way to Jack a Car... - 10/05/12 05:16 AM

I knew about the stand in before wheel is off. I just wasn't sure if it would be ok to lift the car from the k-frame. That's good to know. And I can also lift it from the center of the diff? Now where would I place the stand if I remove the front wheel or the rear wheel?
Posted By: Hugh Jorgan

Re: Proper Way to Jack a Car... - 10/05/12 05:17 AM

"Proper Way to Jack a Car... "