Page 3 of 64 < 1 2 3 4 5 63 64 >
Topic Options
#867779 - 12/02/10 04:56 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: Jim_Lusk]
Tom_Quad Offline
top fuel

Registered: 08/21/03
Posts: 2255
Loc: out riding
Who do you think might be torture testing it?...I can't wait


Attachments
6332701-20100530_WGI_GR2_7197.jpg (311 downloads)


Top
#867780 - 12/02/10 06:37 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: Tom_Quad]
SomeCarGuy Offline
master

Registered: 02/02/03
Posts: 7838
Loc: Someplace you aren't
That might be more appealing than rebuilding my 4 speed. 18 spline isn't a problem, I will buy a new disc and take the strength gain for that cost.

Top
#867781 - 12/02/10 08:10 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: SomeCarGuy]
JamiePasson Offline
super stock

Registered: 04/23/03
Posts: 850
Loc: Sugarloaf, PA. USA
I will try to answer some of the questions I saw.
At this time, no 23 spline. If we do that, we are going to lower the torque capacity of the trans significantly. It just doesn't make sense to spend more money to tool up for a weaker design.

There are tapered rollers throughout the trans. Input shaft, mainshaft and cluster gear front and rear.
Gear Ratios are

2.64
1.92
1.40
1.00
.70

Weight is 105 lbs

Thanks,
Jamie

Top
#867782 - 12/02/10 08:32 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
JohnRR Offline
I Win

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 73344
Loc: U.S.S.A.
Quote:

I will try to answer some of the questions I saw.
At this time, no 23 spline. If we do that, we are going to lower the torque capacity of the trans significantly. It just doesn't make sense to spend more money to tool up for a weaker design.

There are tapered rollers throughout the trans. Input shaft, mainshaft and cluster gear front and rear.
Gear Ratios are

2.64
1.92
1.40
1.00
.70

Weight is 105 lbs

Thanks,
Jamie





Top
#867783 - 12/02/10 08:48 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JohnRR]
KillerBee Online   content
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 6378
Loc: N.E. Ohio
I remember from the previous post something about trading in your old 4 speed transmissions?
Is this still an option?

Looking forward to getting pricing on this tranny.

Top
#867784 - 12/02/10 09:19 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: KillerBee]
JamiePasson Offline
super stock

Registered: 04/23/03
Posts: 850
Loc: Sugarloaf, PA. USA
In most cases, it will not be an even trade, but we will do our best to help people out.
Jamie
_________________________
Passon Performance 309 Turkey Path Sugarloaf, PA 18249 (570) 401 8949 www.passonperformance.com

Top
#867785 - 12/02/10 09:32 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
JDMopar Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 7723
Loc: Candler,NC / Myrtle Beach, SC
Jamie...thank you for taking the huge amount of time it must have taken to develop this new transmission alternative for us. I'll be interested in an A-body version. Will the new shifter accept stock looking handles for the 3 different body styles?
_________________________

Top
#867786 - 12/02/10 10:00 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JDMopar]
JamiePasson Offline
super stock

Registered: 04/23/03
Posts: 850
Loc: Sugarloaf, PA. USA
JD,
We will do you one better, the new shifter accepts YOUR stock handle. We are making the shifter in both tower arrangements to accept both press in and bolt on handles. So, you will re-use your handle. You can simply change the ball to a 5 speed ball or the lens in a pistol grip to a 5 speed pattern. OR, for stealth, you don't even need to change the ball or lens. Either way, it is YOUR choice. We are not ramming this down anyone's throat that you MUST use our handle at an additional cost.

We wanted to make this as easy as possible for people. Plus, if you just dropped the money on rechroming your handle, you didn't "waste" that money. You will still be able to use the handle. Now, if anyone doesn't have a handle, we can also provide one, but it is not necessary.

These little details just put this product head and shoulders above ANY other option out there as being a TRUE bolt in with NO Mods. So, you won't look like this guy in order to put the transmission in your car!
_________________________
Passon Performance 309 Turkey Path Sugarloaf, PA 18249 (570) 401 8949 www.passonperformance.com

Top
#867787 - 12/02/10 10:42 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
NV69B7RR Offline
master

Registered: 11/08/06
Posts: 5535
Loc: Reno, Nevada
Jamie Thank you for making this!

Any idea on an A body version??
_________________________
68 Pro Touring Valiant "The Red Brick"
72 Demon 340
71 Duster 340 Resto http://board.moparts.org/ubbthreads/show...part=1&vc=1

Top
#867788 - 12/02/10 11:19 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: NV69B7RR]
MN-ScatPack Offline
master

Registered: 03/09/03
Posts: 5187
Loc: Twin Cities, MN
Awesome! Can't wait for pricing. May need one for my e-body this spring.
_________________________
-Scott

Top
#867789 - 12/02/10 11:57 AM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: NV69B7RR]
JohnRR Offline
I Win

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 73344
Loc: U.S.S.A.
Quote:

Jamie Thank you for making this!

Any idea on an A body version??




Did you miss this ?

Quote:

Believe me,
I am going to hammer hard. It is of course Made in the USA. We are looking at initially making 100 units. These will be divided between A, B and E Body tails. I should have pricing pretty well finalized by the end of next week.



Top
#867790 - 12/02/10 12:26 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: NV69B7RR]
JamiePasson Offline
super stock

Registered: 04/23/03
Posts: 850
Loc: Sugarloaf, PA. USA
The picture IS of an A Body trans. That is the first one that we did.
_________________________
Passon Performance 309 Turkey Path Sugarloaf, PA 18249 (570) 401 8949 www.passonperformance.com

Top
#867791 - 12/02/10 12:34 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
JohnRR Offline
I Win

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 73344
Loc: U.S.S.A.
Quote:

The picture IS of an A Body trans. That is the first one that we did.





Top
#867792 - 12/02/10 01:39 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
SomeCarGuy Offline
master

Registered: 02/02/03
Posts: 7838
Loc: Someplace you aren't
Quote:

JD,
We will do you one better, the new shifter accepts YOUR stock handle. We are making the shifter in both tower arrangements to accept both press in and bolt on handles. So, you will re-use your handle. You can simply change the ball to a 5 speed ball or the lens in a pistol grip to a 5 speed pattern. OR, for stealth, you don't even need to change the ball or lens. Either way, it is YOUR choice. We are not ramming this down anyone's throat that you MUST use our handle at an additional cost.

We wanted to make this as easy as possible for people. Plus, if you just dropped the money on rechroming your handle, you didn't "waste" that money. You will still be able to use the handle. Now, if anyone doesn't have a handle, we can also provide one, but it is not necessary.

These little details just put this product head and shoulders above ANY other option out there as being a TRUE bolt in with NO Mods. So, you won't look like this guy in order to put the transmission in your car!




Sweet. Anything that can be done to lwer costs and make it easier for guys to afford by reusing stuff is a good thing. Should help get the volume up where it needs to be.

Top
#867793 - 12/02/10 02:31 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
Jim_Lusk Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 03/18/03
Posts: 16968
Loc: Fresno, CA
Quote:

The picture IS of an A Body trans. That is the first one that we did.




Some of us would have been fine if you stopped right there........

I would have done the A-body first, too.

Top
#867794 - 12/02/10 02:44 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: Jim_Lusk]
JamiePasson Offline
super stock

Registered: 04/23/03
Posts: 850
Loc: Sugarloaf, PA. USA
Jim,
Thats funny. To be honest, the reason the A Body tail was cast first is because that was the car that was apart to the right degree to put on the lift to use. If my Cuda was apart, we would have an E Body first. Sorry to deflate you A Body guys.
_________________________
Passon Performance 309 Turkey Path Sugarloaf, PA 18249 (570) 401 8949 www.passonperformance.com

Top
#867795 - 12/02/10 09:27 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
6PACMAC Offline
super stock

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 890
Loc: S.W. PA
This is a cool thing Jamie . Now my dream of driving my A12 bee, coast to coast, with the 4.10 dana instead of a 8.75 with 3.23s, could be a reality. The 4.10s would feel like a 2.87 with your .70 overdrive gear. And the 4.56s in my street/strip 67 GTX would be a livable 3.19 for the ride on the highway

Top
#867796 - 12/02/10 10:00 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: 6PACMAC]
JamiePasson Offline
super stock

Registered: 04/23/03
Posts: 850
Loc: Sugarloaf, PA. USA
6pac,
PRECISELY why we did this. We realize that there is no way that you guys are cutting the floor on an original A12 car or any other original car for that matter to put a Tremec in it.
_________________________
Passon Performance 309 Turkey Path Sugarloaf, PA 18249 (570) 401 8949 www.passonperformance.com

Top
#867797 - 12/02/10 10:33 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: JamiePasson]
ScottSmith_Harms Offline
Mr Wizzard

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 40761
Loc: Spokane Washington
Quote:

6pac,
PRECISELY why we did this. We realize that there is no way that you guys are cutting the floor on an original A12 car or any other original car for that matter to put a Tremec in it.





and I'm stoked! I had planned on a PASSON 4 speed OD but now my Duster will be getting one of these for sure!

Top
#867798 - 12/02/10 11:04 PM Re: New Passon Performance 5 Speed update [Re: ScottSmith_Harms]
badblack68 Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 5041
Loc: At a gas station near you
Now I can plan ahead. I will have to take the 4:56 geared dana that is in in my GTX and put it in my Charger. I will take the 3:54 geared dana that is in my Charger and put it into my GTX. (GTX in an automatic) The 18 spline in my 68 is freshly rebuilt with only 1800 miles on it. I'm anxious to know what the final cost will be for this new 5 speed box so i can decide if I want to trade in my 4 speed HEMI box. Thanks for the effort Jamie and keep us all posted.
_________________________
Nobody gets in to see the wizard! Ain`t no way! Ain`t no how!

Top
Page 3 of 64 < 1 2 3 4 5 63 64 >

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
24,542 Registered Members
32 Forums
179,825 Topics
2,067,376 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Foundry Mark - hemi heads
by ZIPPY
04/23/17 11:44 PM
Cassette player value
by 3hundred
04/23/17 11:14 PM
stage v rocker shaft stand question
by 68HEMIRR
04/23/17 10:48 PM
Rear quarter
by killermopar
04/23/17 10:01 PM