05/26/08 06:57 AM
05/26/08 06:57 AM
Ontario, Canada
D
dodge41 Offline OP
dodge41  Offline OP
D

Ontario, Canada
So, now that you gurus have cleared up the front susp for me (and others) how about the rear? I had planned on flipping the rear and c-notching the frame, but I was told that it is possible to build a 4 link or 4 bar set up your self. I'm a machinist and welder, so that part of it is no problem, it's just the geometry I'd have to learn. There is a guy on ebay that sells plans right down to the spring cradles, has anyone used these? Or other plans?
I love this forum!
Matt

Re: Ok, so now how about the rear suspension? [Re: dodge41] #63630
05/26/08 09:08 AM
05/26/08 09:08 AM
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

north of coder
the rear suspension is a piece of cake compared to the front. there are several styles to chose from, and that may be your most difficult decision to make. as to making the 4-bar, or 4 link yourself, you have the skills necessary, so it wouldn't be hard for you at all. the main concern is to keep the bars parallel, and to set the pinion angle up properly. spring rate would also be of concern, dictated on the weight distribution front/rear. don't skimp on the quality of the related hardware [ bolts, heims, bushings, etc.] and make sure everything is square / parallel to the chassis & front suspension when welded up and you will have no problem.

Re: Ok, so now how about the rear suspension? [Re: moparx] #63631
05/26/08 09:53 AM
05/26/08 09:53 AM
Chino Valley
RodStRace Offline
I Live Here
RodStRace  Offline
I Live Here

Chino Valley
Since Ma didn't mess with the cross spring, you can ignore that.
You can use good ol' parallel leafs. If you have a tight front, you may want to add a sway bar.
Pros: strong, easy, already there, clearance for exhaust, cheap.
Cons: while it can be tuned pretty well, it's still pretty basic. not easy to air bag (if that's in the plans)