Calibrating My Fuel Gauge #447494
08/23/09 08:52 PM
08/23/09 08:52 PM
North Carolina
68HemiRoadrunner Offline OP
68HemiRoadrunner  Offline OP

North Carolina
Hi All, first time posting ...

I just replaced the fuel tank sending unit and now the fuel gauge doesn't seem to be working.

I read on here about calibrating the fuel gauge. I've never done that before. Does anybody know where i can find step-by-step instructions on how to calibrate the fuel gauge?

Paul

Re: Calibrating My Fuel Gauge [Re: 68HemiRoadrunner] #447495
08/23/09 09:04 PM
08/23/09 09:04 PM
Grand Prairie,Texas
stumpy Offline
I Win
stumpy  Offline
I Win

Grand Prairie,Texas
If it's a stock gauge and sending unit then the most you would have to do is bend the float arm to read right. Do you mean the gauge did work and now it won't? Did you ground the sending unit? Have you checked to see if you have a flashing power source at the sending unit wire?

Re: Calibrating My Fuel Gauge [Re: 68HemiRoadrunner] #447496
08/23/09 09:32 PM
08/23/09 09:32 PM
Chino Valley
RodStRace Offline
I Live Here
RodStRace  Offline
I Live Here

Chino Valley
Fixing a non-working gauge is different than calibrating one.

To diagnose, determine if there is a problem in front or back.

First, do the other gauges work? If not, check the fuses and the voltage limiter on the back of the cluster. Repair as needed.

If the other gauges work, disconnect the wire from the sending unit. Have a helper turn on the ignition (Run). Touch the end of the connector to a good ground. The helper should see movement of the gauge. The gauge is damped, meaning it doesn't react quickly, but you should not leave the wire touching ground for very long, less than a minute should do.
If the gauge moved, you know that the power to the instrument panel is good, the gauge is good and the wire back to the tank is good.