02/12/19 04:47 PM
02/12/19 04:47 PM
Los Angeles, CA
JF_Moparts Offline OP
super stock
JF_Moparts  Offline OP
super stock

Los Angeles, CA
I'm new to E-bodies and picked up a 70 Challenger a few months ago. (Thanks Moparts!)

It has the standard twin scoop hood with the plastic blackout/plugs a few inches in, under each scoop. When I'm on the highway at any speed over 75 the wind catches under the scoops and tries to pull the hood up. It's not a lot of movement but it's still disturbing seeing the hood moving around like that so I wondered if anyone had tried anything to improve the aero on that hood? I was thinking about blocking the scoops closer to the outside so that the air passes over each scoop. Any ideas?

Re: 70 Challenger hood scoops - anyone improve the aero? [Re: JF_Moparts] #2620343
02/12/19 05:27 PM
02/12/19 05:27 PM
East Aurora (Buffalo) NY
RoadRunner Offline
master
RoadRunner  Offline
master

East Aurora (Buffalo) NY
I'll take a stab. First, the standard hood on a Challenger has the two simulated air intakes much to close to the surface of the hood to be of any use for air intake. Teh main source of air would be at the front of the grill the recessed grill, though sexy as hell on the Challenger, isn't the most aerodynamic. There is a large build up of pressure at speeds. Some of this is good for cooling as the higher pressure will push air through the radiator.