Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2604252 - 01/09/19 10:53 PM Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter?
MO_PA Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 1685
Loc: Big Sky Country
I'd like to put a factory looking volt meter in place of the amp meter in my 66 Sport Fury. What is available for the factory look? Thanks

Top
#2604289 - 01/10/19 12:44 AM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
AndyF Offline
Too Many Posts

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 25294
Loc: Oregon
Redline Gauge Works does that.

Top
#2604291 - 01/10/19 12:50 AM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
tman Offline
mopar

Registered: 08/21/07
Posts: 487
Loc: WA
Redline guage works converts amp to voltmeter. You can call them and see if they can do that with your existing ampmeter. There is another company that does it, but can't remember.

Top
#2604313 - 01/10/19 06:31 AM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
fastmark Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 4818
Loc: Abilene, Texas
I sent mine off to Auto Instruments Specialty and they converted my oem gauge.

Top
#2604383 - 01/10/19 09:48 AM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
MO_PA Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 1685
Loc: Big Sky Country
Thanks Mopar guys

Top
#2604530 - 01/10/19 02:47 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
hemi-itis Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 12/29/07
Posts: 11282
Loc: Great Neck,LI,new york
The amp gauge has been an issue in many of the old mopes.The wire to the gauge comes in through the bulkhead connector then through the ignition switch and then to the gauge.I would bypass a few feet of wire and go right to the volt gauge from the bulkhead.
_________________________
HEMI-ITIS has no cure. My condition is fully BLOWN!!!

New best 60ft,, 1.42,1/8, 6.0 @117,, 9.38 @146.75 with 6 lbs boost @3700 lbs

Top
#2604544 - 01/10/19 03:20 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
Andrewh Offline
master

Registered: 02/17/03
Posts: 7926
one cheaper choice.
sun makes small volt meter gauges. some people have gutted those and installed them into the dash instead of spending the money for conversion.
even replacing the face with the amp meter face and a decal for voltage.

Top
#2604557 - 01/10/19 03:49 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
BcudaChris Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 03/31/05
Posts: 293
Loc: Colorado front range
If you're into a 5" tach, another option may be one of those Summit combo gauges with volts, temp, oil pressure inside the tach sweep.

Top
#2604558 - 01/10/19 03:50 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
NachoRT74 Offline
master

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 5253
Loc: Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
the ammeter is not the guilty, the alternator is, then, after that the terminals at bulkhead, after that, the owner ( LOL ) and "techs" ( double LOL )... but... whatever

Top
#2604564 - 01/10/19 04:19 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: hemi-itis]
Supercuda Offline
I want my mommy!!

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14477
Loc: up yours
Originally Posted By hemi-itis
The amp gauge has been an issue in many of the old mopes.The wire to the gauge comes in through the bulkhead connector then through the ignition switch and then to the gauge.I would bypass a few feet of wire and go right to the volt gauge from the bulkhead.


Nope

Want to test it? Leave your keys in your pocket.

Sit in driver's seat.

Look at ammeter

Turn on headlights.

What happens?
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2604611 - 01/10/19 05:50 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
hemi-itis Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 12/29/07
Posts: 11282
Loc: Great Neck,LI,new york
My 63 and a buds 70 RR when the amp gauge went,,,the route of that wire whatever the color was as I stated.I'm no expert,but I did drive by the Holiday inn express. grin
_________________________
HEMI-ITIS has no cure. My condition is fully BLOWN!!!

New best 60ft,, 1.42,1/8, 6.0 @117,, 9.38 @146.75 with 6 lbs boost @3700 lbs

Top
#2604641 - 01/10/19 06:31 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
MO_PA Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 1685
Loc: Big Sky Country
I'm going to install 4 plastic, 6 wire blocks on the inner fender, the blocks have screw connectors so things will always be tight, the new wires will pass through the old bulkhead connector after I remove the wires and drill the pieces so I can pass the wires through it. I'm also tossing the fuse block and putting a new six place fuse holder that takes the newer flat fuses, the wires here will be secured with screws. I'll use lots of new wiring and get rid of trouble areas that Mopars are known for. I've owned Mopar cars since I bought a new Sport Fury in 1966, I have a 62 Fury, a 64 Belvedere 426S 4speed, this 66 Sport Fury convertible factory 440 4speed and a 68 Coronet R/T 440 4speed...Go Mopar!

Thanks for your input

Top
#2604644 - 01/10/19 06:36 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: hemi-itis]
NachoRT74 Offline
master

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 5253
Loc: Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
3rd gen charger based, but same basics on all. Ignition switch is spliced into the circuit between amm and alt.


Attachments
IMG_1006.PNG



Top
#2604689 - 01/10/19 08:09 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? "UP DATE" [Re: MO_PA]
MO_PA Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 1685
Loc: Big Sky Country
I think I found the perfect volt meter, The 1994 Jeep volt meter I happen to have looks the same shape and I think it will go in the dash without much modification. Tomorrow will tell.

Top
#2604907 - 01/11/19 10:22 AM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? "UP DATE" [Re: MO_PA]
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 10163
Loc: north of coder
Originally Posted By MO_PA
I think I found the perfect volt meter, The 1994 Jeep volt meter I happen to have looks the same shape and I think it will go in the dash without much modification. Tomorrow will tell.


please post pics of the jeep item.
beer

Top
#2604992 - 01/11/19 12:54 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? "UP DATE" [Re: moparx]
DAYCLONA Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 12/10/07
Posts: 16138
Loc: Mass
Originally Posted By moparx
Originally Posted By MO_PA
I think I found the perfect volt meter, The 1994 Jeep volt meter I happen to have looks the same shape and I think it will go in the dash without much modification. Tomorrow will tell.


please post pics of the jeep item.
beer




...


Attachments
voltmeter.JPG



Top
#2605265 - 01/11/19 11:15 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
crackedback Offline


Registered: 02/15/15
Posts: 1185
Loc: CA
Except when the ammeter shorts to the instrument cluster and the other nonsense that happens with a 40yo car.

Stupid charge path for the alternator and has been since the cars where rolled off the assembly line.

Top
#2605382 - 01/12/19 11:08 AM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? "UP DATE" [Re: DAYCLONA]
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 10163
Loc: north of coder
Originally Posted By DAYCLONA
Originally Posted By moparx
Originally Posted By MO_PA
I think I found the perfect volt meter, The 1994 Jeep volt meter I happen to have looks the same shape and I think it will go in the dash without much modification. Tomorrow will tell.


please post pics of the jeep item.
beer




...


Thank You !
beer

Top
#2605459 - 01/12/19 01:14 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: crackedback]
NachoRT74 Offline
master

Registered: 08/14/07
Posts: 5253
Loc: Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
Originally Posted By crackedback
Except when the ammeter shorts to the instrument cluster and the other nonsense that happens with a 40yo car.

Stupid charge path for the alternator and has been since the cars where rolled off the assembly line.


Sorry, didn't understand what you said, but if is what I think, the "problem" with the ammeters is more than the ammeter itself. Is the lack of power from stock alts.

Top
#2605535 - 01/12/19 03:58 PM Re: Replace dash amp meter with a volt meter? [Re: MO_PA]
crackedback Offline


Registered: 02/15/15
Posts: 1185
Loc: CA
Stupid design from end to end...

To deny that the ammeters have NEVER caused a problem in any vehicle is folly. Carry on.

No, I'm not going to debate about where the issue lies.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Advertisement
Forum Stats
25,741 Registered Members
32 Forums
192,936 Topics
2,250,354 Posts

Most users ever online: 1,424 @ 06/20/18 07:18 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
WIW: Stock LA Motor Connecting Rods
by vinnyd76
02/19/19 12:12 PM
What would win, road grader vrs MGB?
by GODSCOUNTRY340
02/19/19 12:03 PM
EMISSIONS CODE P0440
by moparsquid
02/19/19 11:30 AM
Brake calipers
by scottyb1955
02/19/19 11:17 AM