Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2603132 - 01/07/19 07:18 PM 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
I am installing a Fitech fuel injection system on my 86 Dodge Ram.

I have removed all of the emissions related parts and installed headers.

Question is what all does the PCM control on this truck? can I disconnect it and remove unnecessary wiring and install orange box ECU with vacuum advance distributor and ballast?

I know there is probably an easier way going to points system or petronix but I already have everything mentioned brand new in box.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Top
#2603172 - 01/07/19 08:21 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Magnum Offline
master

Registered: 01/24/03
Posts: 5680
Loc: Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Fuel injection and points? Seems like an odd combination.

Not sure what all the PCM controls but I've removed it ALL on an 1987 Ram and also installed a 70's style 4/5 pin Mopar orange box electronic ignition and the truck still worked, including the charging system.

Moparmad, there is a truck section that you could post this question in too.


Edited by Magnum (01/07/19 08:22 PM)
_________________________
69 Super Bee, 93 Mustang LX, 04 Allure Super

Top
#2603174 - 01/07/19 08:25 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
Thanks for the response and the heads up. I’ll post there also.

Top
#2603185 - 01/07/19 08:43 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Supercuda Offline
I want my mommy!!

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14474
Loc: up yours
Some Fitech control timing too. Which do you have, PN?
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2603194 - 01/07/19 08:58 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Supercuda]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
31003

Top
#2603198 - 01/07/19 09:09 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Supercuda Offline
I want my mommy!!

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14474
Loc: up yours
that's not one of the ignition ones. You can run the orange box setup you mentioned. 86 is still lean burn system so the computer has minimal control over anything other than the engine, if you have an automatic it might control the unlock in the torque converter. Not a truck guy though, other than that I think there is nothing the computer does, but again, not a truck guy and it's been close to 20 years since I messed with a Ram.
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2603199 - 01/07/19 09:13 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Supercuda]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
The trans is my main concern. haven't found a good enough wiring diagram to let me know.

I do plan on changing to a 727 trans eventually(without electronic lock up) just don't have the funds now and need to get this truck up and running.

thanks for the reply.


Edited by Moparmad (01/07/19 09:14 PM)

Top
#2603325 - 01/08/19 07:22 AM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
3hundred Online   sleepy
master

Registered: 11/05/03
Posts: 4882
Loc: Fort Worth, Texas
No electronics in the trans, just hook up and adjust the kick down linkage.

Robert
_________________________
'68 Fury Convertible
'69 300 Convertible
'93 Ramcharger 5.7 Hemi
'93 Ramcharger 318 sold
'01 3500 4x4 Cummins 6 speed
'13 300 S sold
'15 Durango 5.7 Hemi
'16 300 S Hemi

Top
#2603366 - 01/08/19 09:45 AM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: 3hundred]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
Thanks for all of the replies.

Top
#2604598 - 01/10/19 05:21 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
WEEEELLLLLL CRAP! What now? took the wiring harness off of my truck to remove all unnecessary computer wires and after I have all but destroyed the harness, I see it has a relay for the lock up converter. now I have no computer and no wires to reconnect. what are my options, really didn't want to have to buy a new transmission right now.

Top
#2604614 - 01/10/19 05:55 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
bobby66 Offline
master

Registered: 07/11/04
Posts: 3019
Loc: Arlington, Texas
Can you just run 12 volts to the relay and control the lock-up with a toggle switch?
_________________________
B

Top
#2604616 - 01/10/19 05:57 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: bobby66]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
I am not versed in the newer vehicles with lots of electronic components. I don't have a clue. I prefer to do it right, even if the only option is a tci 727 transmission or equivalent.

Top
#2604617 - 01/10/19 05:59 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Supercuda Offline
I want my mommy!!

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14474
Loc: up yours
Works on all the early lockups

Lockup control
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2604619 - 01/10/19 06:01 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Supercuda]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
what does? the toggle switch?

I guess I could do the toggle switch for now and get a transmission later.

any other options anybody?


Edited by Moparmad (01/10/19 06:06 PM)

Top
#2604626 - 01/10/19 06:08 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
a12rag Offline
top fuel

Registered: 04/23/07
Posts: 2217
Loc: Calgary, Alberta Canada
You should be able to just use a toggle switch to lock in the convertor when you hit cruising speeds on the highway . . . just remember to "unlock" the convertor when you slow down . . . am sure you will get the "feel" for it once you drive it a while . . .

Top
#2604672 - 01/10/19 07:45 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Supercuda Offline
I want my mommy!!

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14474
Loc: up yours
Originally Posted By Moparmad
what does? the toggle switch?

I guess I could do the toggle switch for now and get a transmission later.

any other options anybody?


there is no toggle switch in that kit.

there is a vacuum switch that will unlock the T/C if you floor it. there is an oil pressure switch that will engage LU above a certain mph. that's is for controls, everything else is wires or fuse.

You don't have an OD version so that part is not applicable.

_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2604799 - 01/11/19 06:08 AM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
kenworth_goose Offline
top fuel

Registered: 05/13/06
Posts: 1907
Loc: ky.
Why not just not use the lockup?

Top
#2604840 - 01/11/19 09:03 AM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: kenworth_goose]
Supercuda Offline
I want my mommy!!

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14474
Loc: up yours
Originally Posted By kenworth_goose
Why not just not use the lockup?


read the thread, it's answered.
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2605000 - 01/11/19 01:22 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
John_Kunkel Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 19945
Loc: Rio Linda, CA
There's no reason to not just leave the trans electrics unconnected, it simply won't lock up.

If you want to energize the lockup with a toggle switch you have complete control. If you forget to turn the switch off when coming to a stop, it'll drop out of lockup when the trans drops out of 3rd gear.
_________________________
I'm supposed to respect my elders, but its getting harder and harder for me to find one now.

Top
#2606700 - 01/14/19 08:49 PM Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad]
Moparmad Offline
member

Registered: 01/07/19
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
what is the disadvantage of it not locking up except a little fuel mileage difference?

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Advertisement
Forum Stats
25,740 Registered Members
32 Forums
192,890 Topics
2,249,816 Posts

Most users ever online: 1,424 @ 06/20/18 07:18 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
wheel and tire combo
by 70moparmike
02/18/19 06:20 AM
Low oil pressure light?
by gss
02/18/19 12:41 AM
MRM this weekend
by WHITEDART
02/17/19 11:13 PM
04 & 05 1500 as cheap daily driver
by 70FJ5383
02/17/19 09:54 PM