Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2588474 - 12/07/18 06:07 AM Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one?
codfish Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 4229
Loc: Newfoundland
Hey all

My 37 D5 came with an LT1 and 6 speed trans already installed. Not my choice of power plant but it is what it is.

I just picked up a well running slant 6/904 combo which was plucked from a 67 Coronet for free! (well a bottle of rum actually. Love the barter system) Also got the driveshaft and rear end as well thrown in!

The LTI actually fits pretty well in the coupe, but I wanna prep the slant 6/904 to eventually install it in place of the chev stuff.

This is my first exposure to the slant 6. Will there be any fitment issues that I should be aware of. Haven't really sized the /6 up very well yet, as it is still sitting in the back of my truck while I am working 350 km offshore. JUST picked it up. The front of the car is fairly narrow as you know, but like I said the LT1 fits in there pretty good. I'm wondering if the sheet metal is wide enough to accommodate the "lean" of the /6.

I know that a small block might be more practical, but I'm just wanting something simple and different that fits well and is dead nuts reliable in the long run. And the price was certainly right. Not looking for a ton of power either. Not a priority anymore.

Thanks
Codfish

Top
#2588803 - 12/07/18 07:01 PM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
JDMopar Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 7885
Loc: Candler,NC / Myrtle Beach, SC
Years ago, a friend of mine had a slant 6 and 904 in a 34 Plymouth Coupe. It was the shorter version of the coupe. It fit pretty nice, and went down the road really well.
_________________________

Top
#2588808 - 12/07/18 07:08 PM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
Supercuda Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14098
Loc: up yours
Substantial difference between a 34 and a 37 Plymouth
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2588916 - 12/07/18 11:25 PM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
poorboy Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 6523
Loc: Freeport IL USA
I believe the slant 6 is a little longer then the original flathead was, and the firewall was inset to accommodate the flathead's length. Likely the slant 6 won't fit into the recess for the flathead because of the angle, but none of that may matter at all. We have no idea what was done to put the LT1 in the car. In addition, I have no idea how the length of the slant 6 compares to the length of the LT1, they may be the same length, but odds are better the slant 6 is longer then the V8.I would guess it depends on if or how much the 37's firewall has been modified to fit in the Chevy V8.

That probably wasn't very helpful was it....Gene

Top
#2588928 - 12/08/18 12:07 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
Iowan Offline
super stock

Registered: 05/23/15
Posts: 1102
Loc: Lost in Time
I never knew of a person pulling a v8 to put a /6 in but I can understand why. To have /6 rod would be cool and unique.
_________________________
Have a great day
Iowan

"obsolete is neat, the older I get the better I was"


Top
#2588983 - 12/08/18 08:14 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: Iowan]
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 9732
Loc: north of coder
the engine bay difference between a 34 and a 37 is virtually zero. the body differences are another story.
figure on at least some firewall mods and of course, the engine wiring harness. if the GM engine has an electric fan, you may want to consider keeping that.
good luck on your project. keep us updated on the progress, please.
beer

Top
#2589032 - 12/08/18 11:41 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: moparx]
codfish Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 4229
Loc: Newfoundland
Ha, never even thought about the LENGTH of the /6 shake_head

The firewall appears to be stock. It does have an electric cooling fan, which is a pusher so that will help with room fore and aft. As for the wiring harness, it has enough of the 95 Camaro harness to make the fuel injection work (ECM and sensors), but the starting and charging system is all tied into the universal aftermarket harness.

codfish


Attachments
IMG_3527.JPG



Top
#2589279 - 12/09/18 08:20 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 9732
Loc: north of coder
i owned a 38 coupe, and my one buddy owned a 37 sedan, plus, i parted out several 37/38 sedans. the firewall is indeed, stock on your car.
when the time comes for the mockup of the /6, consider replacing the pusher fan with a factory [OEM] style puller. since the 6 lays over, you may find by ditching the fixed fan and spacer, the firewall mods may be minimal, and the puller fan can be mounted high, missing the engine. as i don't have a /6 here to measure, i can't tell you the length.
although the original engine was a 6 as well, it may, or may not, be close. i'm saying this because the inline 6 was a heavy type of casting, while the /6 was a lighter, more "modern" style of casting, and may be very close to the original in size.
it was designed to fit in the new A body, and those had not only a lower hood line, but a somewhat cramped engine bay as well.
in the very early 70's, my one buddy had a T-bucket with a slant, and that thing would flat out scoot ! i realize that is an apples to kumquat comparison, but the cool factor was way high.
beer

Top
#2589509 - 12/09/18 03:58 PM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: moparx]
bboogieart Offline
master

Registered: 01/12/08
Posts: 3630
Loc: Lost and Spaced
Originally Posted By moparx
i don't have a /6 here to measure, i can't tell you the length.


Roughly 30 inches.

Neat project. up
Looking forward to the progression.
_________________________
I have mechanical Aptitude.
I can screw up anything.

Top
#2589515 - 12/09/18 04:16 PM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: bboogieart]
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 9732
Loc: north of coder
Originally Posted By bboogieart
Originally Posted By moparx
i don't have a /6 here to measure, i can't tell you the length.


Roughly 30 inches.

Neat project. up
Looking forward to the progression.


me too !
beer

Top
#2590772 - 12/12/18 08:35 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
Twostick Offline
master

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 5120
Loc: Downtown Roebuck Ont
I get the dare to be different part but if you've drove that LS combo I'm thinking the slant might be a tad underwhelming.

Is a Gen3 Hemi a consideration? At least it's the same general shape as what is in there now and the trans is a Tremec so you could be just as all Mopar as a new Challenger when you were done.

Kevin

Top
#2590775 - 12/12/18 08:42 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
Supercuda Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14098
Loc: up yours
Huge difference between an SBC based LT1 (which is what he has) and an LS based LT1.
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2590780 - 12/12/18 08:53 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: Supercuda]
Twostick Offline
master

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 5120
Loc: Downtown Roebuck Ont
Originally Posted By Supercuda
Huge difference between an SBC based LT1 (which is what he has) and an LS based LT1.


So it is Lol. Well that's a little closer power wise to a slant.

Would the SBC engine footprint be bigger than an LS? I'm thinking if it is it makes the Gen3 go in easier if there is such a thing as easier in this instance.

Kevin

Top
#2590835 - 12/12/18 11:18 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
Supercuda Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14098
Loc: up yours
Not that much of a GM guy but my understanding is that the LS is sever so lightly smaller in most respects than the SBC. But that really depends on what is dressing what.

Tunnel ram on a 350, it'll be taller, but stock intake vs stock intake the LS can be taller. No distributor on the LS so firewall clearance is better on an LS. Exhaust ports sit higher on an LS, so header clearances can be different. Oil pan choices are slimmer on an LS and not as easily cut and welded to clear. Not really a clear answer for you.

https://paceperformance.com/p-3990-engine-dimensions.html

The GenIII and various other Mopar engine dimensions

http://st.hotrod.com/uploads/sites/21/2016/10/54-Chrysler-engine-dimensionstable.jpg
_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2590840 - 12/12/18 11:33 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: Supercuda]
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 9732
Loc: north of coder
i know engine height can vary a ton between installations, but the E58 360 i had in my coupe would have had no issues with running a tunnel ram under the stock hood with no modifications. it would have been CLOSE, but doable.
as i used a reversed corvair box on mine, i used a pair of 69/69 passenger side [center dump] manifolds from a 340 dart.
owning a junkyard back then helped with parts. biggrin
center dump headers were not available back then.
beer

Top
#2591209 - 12/13/18 06:57 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: moparx]
codfish Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 4229
Loc: Newfoundland
Thanks for all of the replies guys. I'll use what's under the hood for now to see how it runs. It was in the car when I got it. Haven't really driven it yet, only around the yard. No interior. That's what I'm working on now.

Out of curiosity, does a /6 and a small block share the same trans mounting bolt pattern? May have a lead on a cheap rebuilt 318 as well.

codfish

Top
#2591237 - 12/13/18 08:53 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
Supercuda Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 14098
Loc: up yours
No on the bell housing pattern, for the most part. There is a bell the 60's trucks used that incorporated the rear motor mounts that had both patterns. It was for the NP435 truck 4 speed (granny first).

I also have a very vague recollection of a factory adapter plate that allowed the SB bell on a /6 in 60's vans.


Attachments
sl6tosbm bell.jpg


_________________________
They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.

Top
#2591257 - 12/13/18 09:30 AM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: Supercuda]
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 9732
Loc: north of coder
in my junkyard ownership days, we had a 68, 3/4t pickup yard truck that was /6 - 727 powered with the dash mounted shifter.
it had the adapter plate for the small block pattern 727. it was the only /6-727 combo we ever got in. all the other truck/van automatics with the 6 were 904's. and we took in a bunch of 'em.
beer

Top
#2591493 - 12/13/18 05:57 PM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: moparx]
codfish Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 4229
Loc: Newfoundland
Every time I start looking or asking about stuff like this, I always feel that I was born 10-15 years too late. Might be different in the warmer climates where some vintage iron can still be found in the wrecking yards, but here in the north east it's all newer crap. I would have loved to own/work in a scrap yard back in the day, knowing what we know now.

Top
#2591556 - 12/13/18 08:07 PM Re: Slant 6 in 37 coupe? Anyone have one? [Re: codfish]
savoy64 Offline
top fuel

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1875
Loc: colorado
the slant six bellhousing is its own pattern---if i lived in europe i would be tossing a 5 cylinder mercedes diesel in that and driving the hell out of it----in the 50,s the big dodges and desotos got sent to europe as taxis and they were fitted with small diesels-----by a diesel plant owned by chrysler then sold to cummins.....

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Advertisement
Forum Stats
25,633 Registered Members
32 Forums
195,661 Topics
2,289,312 Posts

Most users ever online: 1,424 @ 06/20/18 07:18 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Great Old Tom Hoover Quote:
by Sunroofcuda
12/16/18 12:15 AM
1990 Dodge D150 - $3500 Abingdon MD
by N717BH
12/15/18 09:15 PM
core support to k member brace what size bolts 69 b body
by moparpro
12/15/18 08:31 PM
EFI- old MoPar- where to get "true power"? Start/run
by CrAzYMoPaRGuY
12/15/18 07:50 PM