Topic Options
#2553471 - 09/23/18 12:19 AM Chassis dyno cannot be skipped?
Scott440 Offline
mopar

Registered: 06/11/05
Posts: 435
Loc: New Mexico
Planning a dyno session to make an EFI profile good for e85 and a separate profile for race gas. Initially I was going to try to dial it in with the engine out of the car (it's already out). Later, someone told me, don't bother, final dyno work has to be done with the engine in the car anyway. Does the drivetrain really influence optimal fuel/ignition? If so, then the only reason to do it outside the car is to have one session with higher hp numbers, but it's not a final tune.

Top
#2553572 - 09/23/18 10:07 AM Re: Chassis dyno cannot be skipped? [Re: Scott440]
sgcuda Offline
master

Registered: 01/28/05
Posts: 4078
Loc: Charlotte, North Carolina
Except for underhood temps raising operating temps of engine, I don't think it should matter. I feel that if you are going to be thrashing the engine between two different fuel supplies, why beat up on the whole car? I's rather just put it on an engine dyno.
_________________________
[image][/image]

Top
#2553592 - 09/23/18 10:52 AM Re: Chassis dyno cannot be skipped? [Re: Scott440]
AndyF Online   content
Too Many Posts

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 24966
Loc: Oregon
For a street car the chassis dyno is probably a better way to tune. For a race car an engine dyno works well.

Top
#2553867 - 09/23/18 08:51 PM Re: Chassis dyno cannot be skipped? [Re: Scott440]
HDNMOPERS Offline
member

Registered: 06/13/15
Posts: 53
Loc: TN
If it's a new build. And your already on the engine dyno. With the EFI installed. You might as well get good base tune. If you install EFI on engine already in the car. Do yourself a favor and chassis dyno tune it. Yeah you can drive it in self tune/learn. But your gonna play haiti hitting all your upper KPA load cells. That's why you will hear "Yeah the more I drove it the better it got". But it will take some miles to do it. On the street or HWY with it in self tune/learn. If you got any kinda of power. Hitting a 80-90 KPA @5500 RPM. I promise you will be north of 100 mph. Not a real safe thing to be doing. So if you can. Get it dynoed. Chassis or Engine dyno. It is better.

Top
#2554059 - 09/24/18 11:29 AM Re: Chassis dyno cannot be skipped? [Re: HDNMOPERS]
jwb123 Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 11/17/15
Posts: 204
Loc: Missouri
not messed with E85 tuning too much, but unless you are buying your fuel from a race fuel supplier, at the gas station the e85 content will be all over the place. Plus when you switch do you have a easy way to drain the tank completely? Most of the guys I helped had a sensor like this which identifies the ethanol content, and a good ECM should be able to be set up to automatically adjust for fuel content, no need to do two different fuel maps.

http://www.maxxtuning.eu/products/engine...ethanol-content


http://www.ecmtuning.com/wiki/ethanolsupport

Top
#2554071 - 09/24/18 11:50 AM Re: Chassis dyno cannot be skipped? [Re: jwb123]
451Mopar Offline
master

Registered: 05/19/08
Posts: 5032
Loc: Aurora, Colorado
Originally Posted By jwb123
not messed with E85 tuning too much, but unless you are buying your fuel from a race fuel supplier, at the gas station the e85 content will be all over the place. Plus when you switch do you have a easy way to drain the tank completely? Most of the guys I helped had a sensor like this which identifies the ethanol content, and a good ECM should be able to be set up to automatically adjust for fuel content, no need to do two different fuel maps.

http://www.maxxtuning.eu/products/engine...ethanol-content


http://www.ecmtuning.com/wiki/ethanolsupport



Flex-Fuel sensor, but I think only a few of the high end ECUs support the use? I plan to add the flex-fuel sensor to my Coronet with the FAST XFI 2.0, but haven't done it you, so not sure how it will work once installed. I'm using the GM sensor as pictured in the second link.

Top

Advertisement
Forum Stats
25,636 Registered Members
32 Forums
195,692 Topics
2,289,666 Posts

Most users ever online: 1,424 @ 06/20/18 07:18 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Milodon oil pan
by StageIII
12/16/18 10:58 PM
1964 Dodge A100 Van
by BloFish
12/16/18 10:10 PM
I have a a Hemi block but is it the right one for me?
by Troy
12/16/18 09:03 PM
Blank REPO broadcast sheet on ebay
by RAH
12/16/18 08:59 PM