mississippi
L
lostdog Offline OP
enthusiast
lostdog  Offline OP
enthusiast
L

mississippi
Can someone tell me the reason(s) why when I press my brake pedal there’s a spot where it hangs up on return and then “pops” up as it returns to original position.

This is on a ‘73 barracuda. I have a new master cylinder, booster and clevis pivot. I have had this thing on and off a million times.

Thanks !

Re: Brake booster rod hanging up! [Re: lostdog] #2538736
08/19/18 10:52 PM
08/19/18 10:52 PM
Freeport IL USA
poorboy Offline
I Live Here
poorboy  Offline
I Live Here

Freeport IL USA
When nothing is attached to the brake pedal, does it swing freely?
Was this problem present with the old master cylinder?
When you bench bled the new master, did the plunger return freely?

You could have a brake pedal pivot issue.
You could have a new master cylinder problem.
You could have a linkage binding issue. You need to test each possibility on its own.

When you step on the pedal, your foot pressure overcomes the problem, but when it returns, it relies on the internal master cylinder springs to push everything back. Gene

Re: Brake booster rod hanging up! [Re: poorboy] #2538746
08/19/18 11:04 PM
08/19/18 11:04 PM
mississippi
L
lostdog Offline OP
enthusiast
lostdog  Offline OP
enthusiast
L

mississippi
Originally Posted By poorboy
When nothing is attached to the brake pedal, does it swing freely?
Was this problem present with the old master cylinder?
When you bench bled the new master, did the plunger return freely?

You could have a brake pedal pivot issue.
You could have a new master cylinder problem.
You could have a linkage binding issue. You need to test each possibility on its own.

When you step on the pedal, your foot pressure overcomes the problem, but when it returns, it relies on the internal master cylinder springs to push everything back. Gene