Topic Options
#2460973 - 03/04/18 02:10 PM chassis question
dbran451 Offline
mopar

Registered: 11/30/03
Posts: 639
Loc: ohio
looking at a mild steel chassis out of a 71 Dart will that work with out a ton of mods on our 69 dart
_________________________
1.413 [Email]9.96@134.36[/Email]

Top
#2461104 - 03/04/18 05:23 PM Re: chassis question [Re: dbran451]
sgcuda Offline
master

Registered: 01/28/05
Posts: 3977
Loc: Charlotte, North Carolina
Are you talking full tube chassis? You would have to know the 71 Dart dimension vs your 69 and how close a fit the chassis is to the body walls. Lots of variables. You might slip your body right on, or you could end up chopping and welding for a very long time.
_________________________
[image][/image]

Top
#2461139 - 03/04/18 06:12 PM Re: chassis question [Re: dbran451]
CMcAllister Offline
top fuel

Registered: 12/30/05
Posts: 2474
Loc: Fulton County, PA
I have to believe that all of the '67-up Dart hardtop bodies are basically the same except the nose and tail. Glass, interior, carpet, suspension, that stuff is all interchangeable I believe.

If I didn't see this chassis with a body on it, I'd want to know who built it, did it certify, is it done correctly, etc. Sometimes, people pick up smoking deals on some of this stuff and spend more to make it work than if they built new from scratch.

Top
#2461169 - 03/04/18 07:03 PM Re: chassis question [Re: CMcAllister]
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win

Registered: 08/23/03
Posts: 31224
Loc: Bend,OR USA
Originally Posted By CMcAllister
I have to believe that all of the '67-up Dart hardtop bodies are basically the same except the nose and tail. Glass, interior, carpet, suspension, that stuff is all interchangeable I believe.

If I didn't see this chassis with a body on it, I'd want to know who built it, did it certify, is it done correctly, etc. Sometimes, people pick up smoking deals on some of this stuff and spend more to make it work than if they built new from scratch.
iagree
I bought a Alston Avenger chassis for a racer from a friend who had bought it from the guy that welded up the kit, he had use the wrong thickness(.069 where .083 should have been) tubing on the lower foot across the front and left door bar shruggy It would not SFI certify due to that whiney work
OP, make sure your getting something you can use scope thumbs
If your planning on going faster later, faster than 7.50 ET in the 1/4 mile, go with a all moly chassis now up


Edited by Cab_Burge (03/05/18 02:30 AM)
_________________________
Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)

Top
#2462284 - 03/06/18 07:37 PM Re: chassis question [Re: dbran451]
dbran451 Offline
mopar

Registered: 11/30/03
Posts: 639
Loc: ohio
thanks for the replies after getting some more pictures and seeing the welds we have decided to pas on this
_________________________
1.413 [Email]9.96@134.36[/Email]

Top

Advertisement
Forum Stats
25,489 Registered Members
32 Forums
193,055 Topics
2,253,583 Posts

Most users ever online: 1,424 @ 06/20/18 07:18 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Today's Route 66 Car Show pics Springfield, IL
by FM3AAR
09/23/18 12:47 AM
Shoutout to AndyF
by dart4forte
09/23/18 12:30 AM
Chassis dyno cannot be skipped?
by Scott440
09/23/18 12:19 AM
Tough sledding at NMCA Indy
by dvw
09/22/18 11:21 PM