Topic Options
#2460425 - 03/03/18 09:33 AM 727 Trans
jkwedge540 Offline
member

Registered: 01/11/08
Posts: 195
Loc: usa,pa
Does anyone make a input shaft for a 727 to run a Turbo 400 toque converter. I read something on it a while back, but can’t remember where.

Top
#2460515 - 03/03/18 12:32 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
fbs63 Offline
pro stock

Registered: 11/17/03
Posts: 1218
Loc: NW Indiana
The converter builder can use whatever core and put whatever you need in it. The problem is the GM cores are physically thicker than a 727 core. You will have to space the trans back from the motor 3/4" to fit a GM core.

Top
#2460727 - 03/03/18 11:56 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
J_BODY Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 04/30/03
Posts: 11430
Loc: aZLiViN
Call Protrans. They do quite a few different shaft configurations iirc.

Top
#2460734 - 03/04/18 12:09 AM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win

Registered: 08/23/03
Posts: 30814
Loc: Bend,OR USA
Why do you want to do this confused work shruggy
_________________________
Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)

Top
#2460806 - 03/04/18 09:09 AM Re: 727 Trans [Re: Cab_Burge]
fbs63 Offline
pro stock

Registered: 11/17/03
Posts: 1218
Loc: NW Indiana
There is a much larger selection of GM cores.

Top
#2461366 - 03/05/18 06:42 AM Re: 727 Trans [Re: Cab_Burge]
jkwedge540 Offline
member

Registered: 01/11/08
Posts: 195
Loc: usa,pa
Hard to get a good toque converter to hold a lot of power with a 727. A lot of companies can’t or won’t do it .

Top
#2461368 - 03/05/18 06:50 AM Re: 727 Trans [Re: Cab_Burge]
70b1dart Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 01/31/11
Posts: 279
Loc: st.louis,mo.
Originally Posted By Cab_Burge
Why do you want to do this confused work shruggy
727s are junk

Top
#2461527 - 03/05/18 12:51 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
Transman Offline
super stock

Registered: 03/27/11
Posts: 734
Loc: Michigan
Jkwedge540 - what engine power/torque are in your plans ?

Top
#2461529 - 03/05/18 01:04 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: 70b1dart]
SportF Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/08/08
Posts: 788
Loc: Minn
Originally Posted By 70b1dart
Originally Posted By Cab_Burge
Why do you want to do this confused work shruggy
727s are junk


Everybody is entitled to an opinion for sure. Have you personally had a 350 or 400 apart? I don't care for that design. That and my 727's have treated me well.

But, I probably am not making the power you are.

If I didn't like the mopar reputation and body styles so much, I'd be racing a whole Chevy, not just the trans.

Top
#2461556 - 03/05/18 02:02 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
jwb123 Offline
member

Registered: 11/17/15
Posts: 156
Loc: Missouri
very few quality converters are made now with OEM cores, most are using billet covers. At least the last couple I purchased were.

As mentioned 727's have a small dimension for the converter. My old model J converter used a ford cortina core for example.

Top
#2461599 - 03/05/18 03:15 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
dvw Offline
master

Registered: 03/16/06
Posts: 6953
Loc: MI, usa
I've had no real issues running close to 900 mine with stock input/ouput. The stock front planet carrier is a maintenance item. With a brake we run the steel part. Aprox 850 running a brake with stock shafts and rear planetarys.
Doug

Top
#2461659 - 03/05/18 05:54 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: dvw]
jkwedge540 Offline
member

Registered: 01/11/08
Posts: 195
Loc: usa,pa
I have and A&A with all the bells and whistles. Every converter company I talk to says they can not help me. Car is heavy with a lot of spray. I just want to try and use a 400 toque converter with the 727. Never really had and issue with the trans.

Top
#2461671 - 03/05/18 06:14 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
RustyM Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 02/24/17
Posts: 228
Loc: Texas
have you talked to FTI down in florida?

Top
#2461678 - 03/05/18 06:25 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win

Registered: 08/23/03
Posts: 30814
Loc: Bend,OR USA
Originally Posted By jkwedge540
I have and A&A with all the bells and whistles. Every converter company I talk to says they can not help me. Car is heavy with a lot of spray. I just want to try and use a 400 toque converter with the 727. Never really had and issue with the trans.
up Thanks for answering, none of my own race motors make above 845 HP so I haven't had to deal with a converter made for above that HP yet.
My current bracket car had a Mikes Ultraglide with a 9 inch converter made for a blown B1 motor ran on Methanol in it when I bought it so I used it, it has worked well up
I may switch to a A-1 8 inch converter I have(per Al and Adams urging) as the current bracket motor barely cracks the 700 + HP numbers on a DTS engine dyno at 4300 ft. on E85 shruggy The first 1.27 60 ft. in that car without using the throttle stop reminded me to not sit up and lean forward when letting go of the trans brake realcrazy whiney
I do have a new car under construction that I was planning on using a older Pro Trans SS/AH 727 that I have with all the bell and whistles that came in them a long time ago, maybe it's time to call Dave and ask him if that is viable still or not now confused work Maybe it is time for a new state of the art Proflyte with converter made for the new car, hopefully the new 555 C.I. B1-MC motor will make north of 1000 HP on either E85 or straight Methanol luck


Edited by Cab_Burge (03/05/18 06:27 PM)
_________________________
Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)

Top
#2461731 - 03/05/18 07:46 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
SportF Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/08/08
Posts: 788
Loc: Minn
Did you talk to M&M transmission in Missouri? http://mandmtransmission.com

Top
#2461751 - 03/05/18 08:33 PM Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540]
70satelliteguy Offline
super stock

Registered: 07/04/05
Posts: 1140
Loc: Penna
"Hard to get a good toque converter to hold a lot of power with a 727. A lot of companies can’t or won’t do it ."

"727s are junk "

Mt PTC converter has lasted 8 years without any problems. My 727 has a lot of A&A goodies and serviced regularly but I hardly consider it junk.

3560 lbs. 572 wedge,transbrake etc. . 900+hp + 300 Nitrous. Race weekly during the summer on motor and 4-5 heads up races on Nitrous.
Mike

Top

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,348 Registered Members
32 Forums
190,248 Topics
2,219,919 Posts

Most users ever online: 1,424 @ 06/20/18 07:18 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Journey electrical question
by GKMOPAR
Yesterday at 11:13 PM
Utiline '79 Power Wagon
by 4x4 Roundup
Yesterday at 10:12 PM
Blowing off steam--pissed at Koni and Summit Racing
by Pacnorthcuda
Yesterday at 09:31 PM
Sudden total electrical failure... 1967 Satellite
by 67SATisfaction
Yesterday at 09:01 PM