Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#2448111 - 02/07/18 02:49 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: CMcAllister]
mopar dave Offline
master

Registered: 01/04/07
Posts: 5347
Loc: flint michigan
Dont know, but i can check. Maybe 10yrs old longacer switch. What should all the measures be to get a passing grade?

Top
#2448116 - 02/07/18 02:57 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
CMcAllister Offline
top fuel

Registered: 12/30/05
Posts: 1996
Loc: Fulton County, PA
I've checked them with an ohm meter and caught bad ones. But it's a big difference when trying to run a few hundred amps through it. I usually just change them out occasionally or if an issue pops up. I would think a voltage drop test from the battery positive to the output stud of the main switch, while the starter is engaged, would show any issue with the switch.

Top
#2448221 - 02/07/18 07:04 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
crackedback Offline


Registered: 02/15/15
Posts: 1016
Loc: CA
Another reason I don't run my starter cable through the cut off. It's death by a thousand cuts killing them regardless of momentary rating. Sometimes they will weld themselves in the on position and the switch won't work at all.

A test that only requires a wrench, hook the battery up to the downstream/starter side of the cut off and test it. Turn the key. If it does the same action as when going through the switch, you can scratch it off the list.

Top
#2448249 - 02/07/18 08:03 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: crackedback]
mopar dave Offline
master

Registered: 01/04/07
Posts: 5347
Loc: flint michigan
Ok, ill check that.

Top
#2448449 - 02/08/18 09:42 AM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
sr4440 Offline
mopar

Registered: 02/06/08
Posts: 430
Loc: Central TEXAS!!!!
Originally Posted By mopar dave
Dont know, but i can check. Maybe 10yrs old longacer switch. What should all the measures be to get a passing grade?


Dave take a few mins to go to youtube and look up "voltage drop test". once you understand how to test, your electrical problems will go away and any that come up can be solved quickly. this is a skillset that every DIY'er should know how to use.

also the correct answer is "0" voltage loss across the switch.

climbing down off of soap box

Joe
_________________________
Without Data, you’re just another guy with an opinion.

Top
#2448456 - 02/08/18 09:48 AM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: sr4440]
mopar dave Offline
master

Registered: 01/04/07
Posts: 5347
Loc: flint michigan
Ok. Thanks for that.

Top
#2448559 - 02/08/18 12:52 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
CMcAllister Offline
top fuel

Registered: 12/30/05
Posts: 1996
Loc: Fulton County, PA
Correct, any resistance across a switch, replace it.

Was looking at a Ron Francis catalog this morning for something and ran across his trunk mount battery cable kit for street rods with EFI, power accessories, etc. 1ga.

Top
#2448564 - 02/08/18 01:04 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win

Registered: 08/23/03
Posts: 30204
Loc: Bend,OR USA
I would , and do , use either #1 or #0 for my trunk mounted batteries depending on the compression and if it is a street car or race only car.
#0 on race only cars with multiple grounds also up
_________________________
Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)

Top
#2448588 - 02/08/18 01:48 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
justinp61 Offline
master

Registered: 10/01/03
Posts: 9295
Loc: W. Kentucky
I just picked up my wire, 1/0 to the starter and #4 for the charge wire and to the feed up front. Also my starter wire will not go through my disconnect switch.

Top
#2448590 - 02/08/18 01:54 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: justinp61]
dvw Offline
master

Registered: 03/16/06
Posts: 6721
Loc: MI, usa
Most tech guys track test is to flip the switch to off and have you try and crank. Better make sure it shuts the starter solinoid feed circuit off if the starter main feed doesn't go through the switch.
Doug

Top
#2448600 - 02/08/18 02:13 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: dvw]
justinp61 Offline
master

Registered: 10/01/03
Posts: 9295
Loc: W. Kentucky
Originally Posted By dvw
Most tech guys track test is to flip the switch to off and have you try and crank. Better make sure it shuts the starter solinoid feed circuit off if the starter main feed doesn't go through the switch.
Doug


It will.

Top
#2448615 - 02/08/18 02:45 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
CMcAllister Offline
top fuel

Registered: 12/30/05
Posts: 1996
Loc: Fulton County, PA
Rule book says master switch must shut off all electrical functions. Ever have a starter "stick", solenoid jam and keep the starter engaged? I have. How you going to fix that when the starter is hooked directly to the battery? If running the starter smokes your master switch, you need a better master switch.

Top
#2448645 - 02/08/18 03:58 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: CMcAllister]
mopar dave Offline
master

Registered: 01/04/07
Posts: 5347
Loc: flint michigan
My Longacre master switch is getting very old at this point. Still shuts everything off.

Top
#2448866 - 02/08/18 10:04 PM Re: Starter cable gage needed [Re: mopar dave]
astjp2 Offline
master

Registered: 01/18/11
Posts: 4124
Loc: Utah and Alaska
I used aircraft wire, it has like 120 strands in it in a 1/0 size, and it can handle the amperage of a standard wire that is 1 size larger. Tim
_________________________
1941 Taylorcraft
1968 Charger
1994 Wrangler
1998 Wrangler
2008 Kia Rio
2017 Jetta

I didn't do 4 years and 9 months of Graduate School to be called Mister!

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,151 Registered Members
32 Forums
186,847 Topics
2,174,312 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
So I Dislike The 2019 Rams SO Much...
by Sunroofcuda
9 minutes 9 seconds ago
Question on the Caltracs
by David Lee
9 minutes 49 seconds ago
4speed fork boot installation
by hemi68charger
14 minutes 40 seconds ago
Plymouth Arrow Pickup
by 65pacecar
Today at 09:23 PM