Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#2442646 - 01/28/18 10:44 PM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: STEFF]
Jerry Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 6740
Loc: Warren, MI
you can't rewire 3 phase to single phase. if you've already got the motor rewound for 240 vs 480, the either a static or rotary phase converter will work. heck even a vfd set at 60hz will work as well, just way overkill for what you're trying to do.

my vote would be a rotary phase converter and get one large enough to support all your machines and a compressor.
_________________________
www.sdconcepts.com
Facebook page: Superior Design Concepts
www.bcrproducts.com

Top
#2442689 - 01/28/18 11:54 PM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: Sport440]
markz528 Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 3320
Loc: Milford, OH
Originally Posted By Sport440
Originally Posted By markz528
A little bit of rewiring and Steff will be fine!

A little birdie told me............. whistling


What kind of rewiring are we talking about here. Id be interested to know? up


He got it running temporarily. He was turning it on through the original switch which is on the motor leads. Since he has a 2 hp drive with a 2 hp motor (nothing wrong with that) you can't switch the motor onto the drive.

He needs to wire the motor directly to the drive and then either put a small toggle switch in to run the drive or rewire the existing switch into the drive controls to stop/start and fwd/rev.
_________________________
67 Coronet 500 9.610 @ 139.20 mph
67 Coronet 500 (street car) 13.300 @ 101.75 mph
69 GTX (clone) - build in progress......

Top
#2442801 - 01/29/18 08:42 AM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: John_Kunkel]
earlymopar Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/30/03
Posts: 797
Loc: Oregon
That's what I have too John. Makes life easy.

- EM

Top
#2442835 - 01/29/18 09:59 AM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: Jerry]
STEFF Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 3725
Loc: Smyrna, South Carolina
Originally Posted By Jerry
you can't rewire 3 phase to single phase. if you've already got the motor rewound for 240 vs 480, the either a static or rotary phase converter will work. heck even a vfd set at 60hz will work as well, just way overkill for what you're trying to do.

my vote would be a rotary phase converter and get one large enough to support all your machines and a compressor.


Yep, my rewind is 3 phase. The VFD I got was $112 on Ebay. Overkill but cheap.

Top
#2442965 - 01/29/18 02:23 PM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: STEFF]
cudaman1969 Offline
master

Registered: 01/25/04
Posts: 3969
Loc: fredericksburg,va

Top
#2442988 - 01/29/18 03:22 PM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: STEFF]
markz528 Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 3320
Loc: Milford, OH
What I neglected to tell Steff is that he probably would have been just fine not rewinding the motor.

My original Bridgeport from 1966 came with a 1 hp motor. Later ones had a 2 hp (I believe).

Since his motor was 480 volt at 2 hp, he could of run it up to 240 volts (linear voltage ramp from 0 to 240 volts and varying the frequency from 0 to 30 hertz) in constant torque mode up to 50% speed and then constant hp mode from 50 to 100% speed (fixed 240 volts but vary the frequency from 31 to 60 hertz).

What does that mean? It means that he would have had rated hp up to 50% speed, but from 50% to 100% speed he would have been limited to 1 hp output. I don't think he ever would have had a problem being limited to 1 hp at the higher speeds.

But too late now!
_________________________
67 Coronet 500 9.610 @ 139.20 mph
67 Coronet 500 (street car) 13.300 @ 101.75 mph
69 GTX (clone) - build in progress......

Top
#2443017 - 01/29/18 04:25 PM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: STEFF]
Superfreak Offline
master

Registered: 11/08/08
Posts: 3520
Loc: the great white north
What are you guys doing to contain the coolant when milling?
_________________________
"Too much to do and not enough time to do it"

Top
#2445622 - 02/03/18 11:06 AM Re: Guys with Bridgeports at Home [Re: STEFF]
merpar Offline
member

Registered: 01/27/17
Posts: 39
Loc: Nevada
My mill is not a bridgeport. But an Enco chinese 2 hp 3 phase. I have an Allen-Bradley converter. Mill is manual speed change. Converter changes it to single phase without any hp loss and gives me variable speed. Plus spindle direction change at the push of a button. I don't know the cost of unit it was given to me as a retirement gift about 15 years ago. It has worked flawlessly. All the info I have is: Bulletin 160 SSC tm variable speed controller (series B) .037-2.2 kw (0.5-3hp)
Hope you all can find the unit. Works great!!

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,145 Registered Members
32 Forums
186,700 Topics
2,172,223 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Brake booster help needed
by 70runner
02/21/18 01:05 AM
Slant 6 cross ram
by theraif
02/21/18 12:35 AM
'71 Roadrunner Air Grabber
by intruder71
02/20/18 11:43 PM
Pressure check a Hemi or whatever block
by cudaman1969
02/20/18 10:17 PM