Topic Options
#2442562 - 01/28/18 09:09 PM which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup?
roadrunninMark Offline
top fuel

Registered: 11/25/03
Posts: 2059
Loc: GA
I am looking at getting the correct height intake for my 318 to use with a 4 barrel to get the correct height for a single 4 barrel shaker set up. I have a thermoquad I was going to use, so probably need a spread bore. I want to go with a dual plane as well, for street use and an alum for weight reduction. I am thinking of the weiand action plus would be the best (I see this manifold is higher in the back, would that be a problem?)?
What are you guys using that have shakers? Did you have to use any spacers?


Edited by roadrunninMark (01/28/18 09:30 PM)

Top
#2442857 - 01/29/18 10:52 AM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 33534
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
I have no "shaker" experience but a street dominator is a spreadbore single plane that works "so so" & it is a very low profile & spacers could be added. here's a BTT for ya.
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
#2443136 - 01/29/18 09:01 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
4406bbl Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 953
Loc: Nebraska
If you want to use a thermoquad and not shorten your baseplate find an old LD340. Performer rpm will fit with baseplate mods.

Top
#2443189 - 01/29/18 10:46 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
AARCONV Offline


Registered: 03/06/03
Posts: 4926
Loc: NEW JERSEY
I run an older torker
_________________________

Top
#2443346 - 01/30/18 09:51 AM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
jbc426 Offline
master

Registered: 03/01/07
Posts: 2707
Loc: West Coast, USA
Is it even legal to run a Shaker hood on a 318?
_________________________
1970 Plymouth 'Cuda #'s 440-6(block in storage)currently 493" 6 pack, Shaker, 5 speed Passon, 3.73s
1968 Plymouth Barracuda Convertible 408 Magnum EFI with 4 speed automatic overdrive, 3600 stall lock-up converter and 3.91's (closest thing to an automatic 5 speed going)

Top
#2443363 - 01/30/18 10:20 AM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
roadrunninMark Offline
top fuel

Registered: 11/25/03
Posts: 2059
Loc: GA
Sure, when the 318 has more "cajones" than a 340 smile

Top
#2443474 - 01/30/18 12:44 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
tallzag Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 1824
Loc: Shelton, Washington
Getting the height right can be tricky. We sell carb spacers if it is too low.
_________________________
Northwest Performance and shakerhood.com
Rocket Restorations

Top
#2443492 - 01/30/18 01:12 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
tallzag Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 1824
Loc: Shelton, Washington
Getting the height right can be tricky. We sell carb spacers if it is too low. Would think an intake like the LD340 would get it to the right height.
_________________________
Northwest Performance and shakerhood.com
Rocket Restorations

Top
#2443619 - 01/30/18 04:53 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: tallzag]
Montclaire Offline
master

Registered: 02/18/03
Posts: 7540
Loc: Scranton, PA
Originally Posted By tallzag
Getting the height right can be tricky. We sell carb spacers if it is too low. Would think an intake like the LD340 would get it to the right height.


LD340 would cause a port mismatch - better off with an LD4B.
_________________________
1973 Dodge Charger from "Burn Notice"

Top
#2443827 - 01/30/18 10:37 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
forphorty Offline
pro stock

Registered: 11/26/06
Posts: 1286
Loc: oklahoma
LD4B and LD340 won't work with a thermoquad unless you carve them up.

Top
#2443847 - 01/30/18 11:05 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
tallzag Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 1824
Loc: Shelton, Washington
True - but I put one on a magnum motor once - that took some work.
_________________________
Northwest Performance and shakerhood.com
Rocket Restorations

Top
#2443854 - 01/30/18 11:14 PM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
4406bbl Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 953
Loc: Nebraska
Edelbrock 2176 for 318 port size, ld340 carved up for thermoquad. I would forget the theroquad and use an ld340.

Top
#2444032 - 01/31/18 10:48 AM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
roadrunninMark Offline
top fuel

Registered: 11/25/03
Posts: 2059
Loc: GA
I will be getting the ProMax alum heads, not using stock heads. Will that take care of any port mismatch?

So use the ld340 and which carb and size to go with? I am figuring around 375 hp.

Top
#2445495 - 02/03/18 12:56 AM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
4406bbl Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 953
Loc: Nebraska
Yes on port match, a performer rpm would also work and fit at that power level,and be cheaper not the airgap performer.

Top
#2445496 - 02/03/18 12:59 AM Re: which alum intake 2 use for a 318 for shaker setup? [Re: roadrunninMark]
EV2Bird Offline
No more politics

Registered: 06/23/14
Posts: 3673
Loc: Kansas Roads Between 0 and 140...
When I had the 440 out of mine I ran a older edelbrock 2-4 intake and a year one fiberglass hemi baseplate and it fit like oem.

Top

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,294 Registered Members
32 Forums
189,395 Topics
2,208,465 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
1969 Dodge Charger R/T On Ebay
by tomsjack
Today at 05:10 AM
Trouble with oil leaks in a 440
by Frankenduster
Today at 03:04 AM
4.7 Rebuild
by JDMopar
Yesterday at 10:57 PM
Alternator to cylinder head: How close is too close?
by Fab64
Yesterday at 10:41 PM