Page 6 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#1592970 - 01/13/15 08:56 AM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Consulier]
DoctorDiff Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 7791
Loc: Polson, MT
The rotors measure 13". I also have offset mounting brackets that move the caliper downward 1".
_________________________
Contact info

Top
#1592971 - 01/13/15 09:13 AM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build *DELETED* [Re: DoctorDiff]
Consulier Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/08/05
Posts: 253
Loc: USA
Post deleted by Consulier
_________________________
Thanks,

Kevin Wesley



Top
#1592972 - 01/13/15 10:36 AM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Consulier]
Dan@Hotchkis Offline
super stock

Registered: 05/22/12
Posts: 841
Loc: Santa Fe Springs, CA
Spoke with the HPE guys this morning; they said that it looked good when they cycled it during mock up. They did it with the center link removed as well, so it was full against the steering stop.

Guess we'll just have to wait and see.

Top
#1592973 - 01/13/15 02:39 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: DoctorDiff]
autoxcuda Offline
Too Many Posts

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 25339
Loc: So Cal
Quote:

The rotors measure 13". I also have offset mounting brackets that move the caliper downward 1".




And that checks out to clear the tie rod and not change any caliper to inner rim clearance?
_________________________
Fall Fling XXII
October 28 2017
Woodley Park, Van Nuys CA
www.cpwclub.com
400 show cars, 125+ swap, manf. midways
Malibu Cruise,
Free Spectator Admission!

Top
#1592974 - 01/13/15 05:37 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: autoxcuda]
DoctorDiff Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 7791
Loc: Polson, MT
Yes.
_________________________
Contact info

Top
#1592975 - 01/13/15 09:03 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: DoctorDiff]
MuuMuu101 Offline
I got lucky at Woodward!

Registered: 12/12/10
Posts: 12101
Loc: Covina, Ca
Quote:

Yes.




Do you have pictures and how much? Do they work in conjunction with the caliper adapters already provided in your kit or are they separate? Although, looking at the '76 Dart, it doesn't seem like he's using them.
_________________________

68 Dart GT Project Thread: Linky!

Top
#1592976 - 01/13/15 10:16 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: MuuMuu101]
DoctorDiff Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 7791
Loc: Polson, MT
Your calipers are longer, so the offset brackets (which you already have) are required.
_________________________
Contact info

Top
#1592977 - 01/13/15 10:21 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: DoctorDiff]
MuuMuu101 Offline
I got lucky at Woodward!

Registered: 12/12/10
Posts: 12101
Loc: Covina, Ca
Quote:

Your calipers are longer, so the offset brackets (which you already have) are required.




Ah... So the kit on the '76 is an older Stage 4 kit?
_________________________

68 Dart GT Project Thread: Linky!

Top
#1592978 - 01/13/15 10:30 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: MuuMuu101]
DoctorDiff Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 7791
Loc: Polson, MT
I built the prototype Stage 4 kit around a pair of sample calipers. The production calipers were longer, so I had to design an offset caliper bracket for additional clearance.
_________________________
Contact info

Top
#1592979 - 02/16/15 11:18 AM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: DoctorDiff]
Consulier Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/08/05
Posts: 253
Loc: USA
It's alive...

Dart Test Firing - If anybody knows how to embed video on Moparts, let me know and I'll update the post.

Very happy with the exhaust sound. It's using single chamber Magnaflows and will have a dump before the axle. Racepak dash is super cool and I'll probably not know how to use half of what it has. You can see on the switch panel it flips between 2 different screens.










The most expensive brake lines known to man... seriously


Red button on the left kills everything and there is another of the same on the cowel for external kill as well. Green button powers up everything. Red light next to the headlight switch is the electric power steering failure light in case it goes out. High Beams are on the floor and Front, Mid, Rear switches run optional lights in those areas, or interior pieces.




You can see the center head restraint net in this shot and the mounts on the door bars for window nets on both sides.


Straps in the trunk are used to hold a full size spare.
_________________________
Thanks,

Kevin Wesley



Top
#1592980 - 02/16/15 11:28 AM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Consulier]
RylisPro Offline


Registered: 06/18/07
Posts: 2143
Loc: NorCal
Very Nice!
For the RacePak there is a formula to input into the software to program the IQ3 to get a speedo signal from the transmission if it has an electronic output. You have to wire the electronic output on the trans to a USM box and then input a value into the software. The formula for the value or "factor" as the RacePak guys call it is:
tire height x 3.14 12 5280 rear gear ratio x 60

This is handy to have because the GPS speedo does not always connect when you need it or if you are in cities or tunnels

The IQ3 will at times freeze up but I just reset mine on and off and it works fine
_________________________

/Drive
Instagram: @rylispro
www.rylispro.com
925-214-9192

Top
#1592981 - 02/16/15 11:57 AM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: RylisPro]
Consulier Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/08/05
Posts: 253
Loc: USA
Quote:

This is handy to have because the GPS speedo does not always connect when you need it or if you are in cities or tunnels.



Yeah, it's setup with the GPS pickup in the back window now. I'll see how it goes. I have the pieces to use the pickup in the trans if I want to go that route later.

I'm looking forward to the lap times and such in the Racepak. So glad I went with that instead of standard gauges. It's just so compact and seems pretty easy to deal with.
_________________________
Thanks,

Kevin Wesley



Top
#1592982 - 02/16/15 12:05 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Consulier]
RylisPro Offline


Registered: 06/18/07
Posts: 2143
Loc: NorCal
To be honest I never ended up using the laptime feature on my RacePak it was just too complicated for me to figure out! I use the RaceChrono app on my smartphone instead. It is just way easier.

Cool seats by the way! Although I am surprised why you didn't go with a halo style seat to offer extra protection especially since you have a cage? Also I would recommend to install a sturdy back brace to your driver seat that ties to the horizontal bar right behind it. Makes the seating position soo much stiffer!
_________________________

/Drive
Instagram: @rylispro
www.rylispro.com
925-214-9192

Top
#1592983 - 02/16/15 12:42 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: RylisPro]
Uhcoog1 Offline
super stock

Registered: 05/12/05
Posts: 717
Loc: Houston Tx
The car looks great and sounds great! Getting close!

Couple questions:
Are ya'll logging / monitoring brake pressure?
Did ya'll cut down the front bumper to get it closer to the body on the sides?

Once again - looks and sounds awesome. Can't wait to see it running.
_________________________
-'02 Dodge Viper Ex-World Challenge racecar
-'73 Duster, 6.1 based 392 hilborn hemi, tko600, full floater rear 9", Hellwig custom bars, viper brakes, built for road course

Top
#1592984 - 02/16/15 12:54 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: RylisPro]
Consulier Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/08/05
Posts: 253
Loc: USA
Quote:

Cool seats by the way! Although I am surprised why you didn't go with a halo style seat to offer extra protection especially since you have a cage?



No Halo seats allowed at the 'Ring on Tourist days. I've got a Halo Sparco if I need to swap it in for anything serious. I had them put the center net in just in case those become required with Halo seats later.

Quote:

Also I would recommend to install a sturdy back brace to your driver seat that ties to the horizontal bar right behind it. Makes the seating position soo much stiffer!



I've never had an issue with seats moving around too much. I'm ok with it for the moment.
_________________________
Thanks,

Kevin Wesley



Top
#1592985 - 02/16/15 01:02 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Uhcoog1]
Consulier Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/08/05
Posts: 253
Loc: USA
Quote:

Are ya'll logging / monitoring brake pressure?



No, haven't even ventured down that path yet.

Quote:

Did ya'll cut down the front bumper to get it closer to the body on the sides?



When it gets to the body shop we'll fiddle with the bumper mods.

For 2015, other than putting a fiberglass bumper on the rear, there will probably be little to no work done on the interior finishing, or the body work. I'm not going to lose another season to making it look pretty.
_________________________
Thanks,

Kevin Wesley



Top
#1592986 - 02/16/15 01:13 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Consulier]
72Swinger Offline
master

Registered: 02/23/11
Posts: 4284
Loc: Nebraska
Awesome! Like the trunk firewall, oh and every damn thing else too....
_________________________
Mopar to the bone!!!

Top
#1592987 - 02/16/15 06:03 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Consulier]
Uhcoog1 Offline
super stock

Registered: 05/12/05
Posts: 717
Loc: Houston Tx
Quote:

Quote:

Are ya'll logging / monitoring brake pressure?



No, haven't even ventured down that path yet.






There is what looks like a honeywell type pressure sensor in the brake line. Is that something else? ha maybe I need a tutorial on which master cylinder is which.
_________________________
-'02 Dodge Viper Ex-World Challenge racecar
-'73 Duster, 6.1 based 392 hilborn hemi, tko600, full floater rear 9", Hellwig custom bars, viper brakes, built for road course

Top
#1592988 - 02/16/15 06:23 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Uhcoog1]
goldduster318 Offline
pro stock

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 1400
Loc: Lake Orion, MI
Love the car...sounds great as well.

I was curious as to why those lines to and from the master cylinder had to be flexible? I suppose I can understand the ones from the reservoir but not the others. Seems like hard plumbing would have worked fine and had less volume consumption.
_________________________
'70 Duster 470hp 340/A-833/8 3/4 3.23 Sure-Grip

Top
#1592989 - 02/16/15 06:43 PM Re: Hotchkis 76 Dart Build [Re: Uhcoog1]
Consulier Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 05/08/05
Posts: 253
Loc: USA
Quote:

There is what looks like a honeywell type pressure sensor in the brake line. Is that something else? ha maybe I need a tutorial on which master cylinder is which.



Brake light pressure switch. Has Tilton pedals, it was easier than fabbing a standard switch mount.
_________________________
Thanks,

Kevin Wesley



Top
Page 6 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
24,898 Registered Members
32 Forums
184,216 Topics
2,134,064 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Trick Flow head porting/modification
?

by DGS
10/19/17 04:04 AM
Cheap 2dr Valiant
by UCUDANT
10/18/17 10:38 PM
What don't I get here??!! Help
by EV2 340
10/18/17 10:25 PM
1970 Roadrunner Vin, title & radiator # on FB RM21N0A123482
by grancuda
10/18/17 09:45 PM