Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#14670 - 03/06/05 05:16 PM anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car?
moparguy Offline
pro stock

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 1272
Loc: Minneapolis, MN
I'm wondering if anybody has ever used a painless wiring kit (or the summit equivelent) on a car they use on the street. I just bought another 74 charger which needs to be rewired. I'm debating on wether its worth it for me to build a new wiring harness myself, or just try one of the summit kits.

if you've used one, how do you like it? was it easy enough to install?

thanks
_________________________
Not fast enough till im scared of the thing...

Top
#14671 - 03/06/05 06:45 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: moparguy]
KatFysh Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 9116
Loc: Falconer, NY
I have the 18 circuit Universal.. The install went pretty good. Nice to read the pre labeled wires. I ran into 4-5 "situations". The Painless tech dept. is VERY helpful.. I don't think you'd get that with a Summit kit.. There are maybe 4-6 circuits I didn't use..It's been 2 1/2 years now. I don't remember..
_________________________

When you decide to quit, THAT is the moment when you would've succeeded..

Top
#14672 - 03/06/05 07:58 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: KatFysh]
Jerry Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 6764
Loc: Warren, MI
i used one on my buddies mustang. it went in pretty easy.
_________________________
www.sdconcepts.com
Facebook page: Superior Design Concepts
www.bcrproducts.com

Top
#14673 - 03/06/05 08:07 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: moparguy]
79powerwagon Offline
Too Many Posts

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 27726
Loc: places
My 66 D100 has only enough electrical to start and run the engine. Nothing else works at all! And the fuse box is nothing but a unique alloy of bakelite and metal!

So, I've been scouring the hot/street rod mags and comparing the ads. For me, a local company makes a decent harness with similar features to the Painless units for way less money. I ran into them by accident last year at a Good Guys show.

If it may work for you, give them a shout:

Kwik Wire Street Rod Shop
Fon Du Lac, WI 54935
1-888-994-9913

Their kit (for my 66 truck) is about $70.00 less than the Painless kit of similar specs, and if you want an electric fan for your radiator, their prices are WAY better than say Summits!

Top
#14674 - 03/06/05 09:04 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: 79powerwagon]
Anonymous
Unregistered


these guy's out of n.fla. are pretty good and prices reasonable,about 50% cheaper than painless www.ezwiring.com

Top
#14675 - 03/06/05 10:49 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street
moparguy Offline
pro stock

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 1272
Loc: Minneapolis, MN
I appreciate the help. I'll check out those 2 places you guys suggested.

Thanks!!
_________________________
Not fast enough till im scared of the thing...

Top
#14676 - 03/06/05 10:51 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: moparguy]
AlexP Offline


Registered: 09/08/03
Posts: 10557
Loc: Houston, Tx
i did my buddies 69 gto from scratch and after two weekends of bustin knuckles i had it running again without even calling the tech support line .

Top
#14677 - 03/07/05 03:22 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: moparguy]
plumebody Offline


Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 1065
Loc: rochester,new york
Also have the 18 circuit kit and it was very easy to install. Another for their tech department.
_________________________

Top
#14678 - 03/07/05 02:54 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: plumebody]
petty43 Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 02/11/05
Posts: 363
Loc: Missouri
Ditto Painless. I put one in my 54 chevy truck. I got the one for the gm keyed column and made a special molex cable to accomodate the switch in the dash and aftermarket turn signal. I asked the tech department at one time about using their product in a satellite and he said use the standard street rod harness universal. It's part number 10101 or 10102 if memory serves me correctly.
_________________________
1968 Satellite RR Copy Cat My Fleet

Top
#14679 - 03/07/05 03:08 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: moparguy]
Idunno Offline
super street

Registered: 10/02/03
Posts: 321
Loc: California
WE sell and install the EZ wire and the Autoloc brand. We have nothing against the painless system it is just the ones we sell are cheaper and are just as good. I would recommend the Autoloc for 169.00 plus shipping.
Contact me at 707-566-7152
basikmark@yahoo.com
website at basiksrm.com

Top
#14680 - 03/07/05 05:52 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: Idunno]
moparguy Offline
pro stock

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 1272
Loc: Minneapolis, MN
Moparvern,

How many circuit and fuses are in that Autoloc system you are selling for $169?
_________________________
Not fast enough till im scared of the thing...

Top
#14681 - 03/07/05 06:46 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: moparguy]
Anonymous
Unregistered


I used one from Centech, quality was excellent, tech was great, worth looking into.

Top
#14682 - 03/08/05 02:17 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street
petty43 Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 02/11/05
Posts: 363
Loc: Missouri
I just went painless cause I picked it up at a swap meet for $125.00 new in box. I would have used the less expensive had it not been for that.
_________________________
1968 Satellite RR Copy Cat My Fleet

Top
#14683 - 03/08/05 03:17 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: petty43]
GTXKen Offline
super gas

Registered: 04/14/03
Posts: 3968
Loc: North Riverside IL & Lowell IN
Not to hi-jack but....

Did you do a complete wiring job, meaning all the wiring or just the main harness?

How are the firewall blocks (not sure what they are called) The block that mates the internal harness with the engine harness?


Top
#14684 - 03/08/05 03:24 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: GTXKen]
moparguy Offline
pro stock

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 1272
Loc: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:

Not to hi-jack but....

Did you do a complete wiring job, meaning all the wiring or just the main harness?

How are the firewall blocks (not sure what they are called) The block that mates the internal harness with the engine harness?






negative, I havent touched the car. Thats the reason I said above that the car I just got needed to be rewired. Im picking the car up this coming weekend. so I'll see how the bulkhead connector is when I get the car back home.
_________________________
Not fast enough till im scared of the thing...

Top
#14685 - 03/09/05 10:27 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: moparguy]
Idunno Offline
super street

Registered: 10/02/03
Posts: 321
Loc: California
The 169.00 unit is a 14 circuit harness. This is all you need unless you are running power windows, seats, etc. The 20 circuit has all the goodies including electric fuel pump, A/C, Power seats, Power mirrors etc. The 20 circuit is 200.00
You can call me at 707-566-7152 or e-mail me at basikmark@yahoo.com

Top
#14686 - 03/12/05 10:30 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: Idunno]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hey all,
I've had a Painless Kit for a while and have had my dash and engine harnesses pulled from my car sense the end of last summer. Before I became inundated with school and work I managed to separate the original wiring (what wasn't melted together) and labeled ever wire on both ends. I'm hoping to get started installing my Painless Kit in about a week during spring break (took off work as well ) Anyway, I have a bunch of questions about the installation. I plan on mounting the new fuse box and running wire through a grommet on the firewall (bulkhead connector is fried). When I get to connections such as the headlights I'm going to buy new male/female connectors and cut off the old connector on the headlight side, for example, and replace it with a new one to mate with the new wiring.

If anyone has some tips/warnings/advice I'd really appreciate it. Here are some questions I already have:
Where did you mount the fuse box?
What was the ratings on the fuses you used?
How similar is the wiring process going to be to the original?
--Does the painless come with everything or am I going to need to wire in some minor parts?

This will be an 18 circuit Painless Wiring kit going in a 1969 Charger 383 4bbl with points ignition via a Mallory Unilite distributor. No A/C, no p/w, no p/l, not wiring in the radio, not wiring in the dash yet.

I plan on redoing my dash with Autometer guages. I'll probably keep the speedo, but everything else will be switched, so I 'll deal with that part of the wiring when I get all the guages.

Thanks, and if anyone feels like chatting about there experience please IM me:
AOLIM = lprmessiah
MSNIM = bjranimalmother@hotmail.com

Thanks, and please

Brian Russell

Top
#14687 - 03/13/05 01:57 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street
Anonymous
Unregistered




This is really important to me, guys.

Brian

Top
#14688 - 03/13/05 08:30 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street
KatFysh Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 9116
Loc: Falconer, NY
Did you get my pm, amidemon?
_________________________

When you decide to quit, THAT is the moment when you would've succeeded..

Top
#14689 - 03/13/05 10:09 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: KatFysh]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:

Did you get my pm, amidemon?




Actually, no. Just saw this and checked. Could you resend it, please? Thank you.

Brian

Top
#14690 - 03/13/05 08:04 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: moparguy]
frydfish Offline
super street

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 140
Loc: Iowa City, Ia
I'd rather wire a car from scratch than use a Painless kit. It's a nightmare with a modified car.

Top
#14691 - 03/14/05 12:35 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street car? [Re: frydfish]
Anonymous
Unregistered


I don't understand why that would be. I've got the 18 circuit kit so I should have plenty of extra circuits to wire in all kinds of things.

Brian

Top
#14692 - 03/16/05 02:07 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:

Hey all,
I've had a Painless Kit for a while and have had my dash and engine harnesses pulled from my car sense the end of last summer. Before I became inundated with school and work I managed to separate the original wiring (what wasn't melted together) and labeled ever wire on both ends. I'm hoping to get started installing my Painless Kit in about a week during spring break (took off work as well ) Anyway, I have a bunch of questions about the installation. I plan on mounting the new fuse box and running wire through a grommet on the firewall (bulkhead connector is fried). When I get to connections such as the headlights I'm going to buy new male/female connectors and cut off the old connector on the headlight side, for example, and replace it with a new one to mate with the new wiring.

If anyone has some tips/warnings/advice I'd really appreciate it. Here are some questions I already have:
Where did you mount the fuse box?
What was the ratings on the fuses you used?
How similar is the wiring process going to be to the original?
--Does the painless come with everything or am I going to need to wire in some minor parts?

This will be an 18 circuit Painless Wiring kit going in a 1969 Charger 383 4bbl with points ignition via a Mallory Unilite distributor. No A/C, no p/w, no p/l, not wiring in the radio, not wiring in the dash yet.

I plan on redoing my dash with Autometer guages. I'll probably keep the speedo, but everything else will be switched, so I 'll deal with that part of the wiring when I get all the guages.

Thanks, and if anyone feels like chatting about there experience please IM me:
AOLIM = lprmessiah
MSNIM = bjranimalmother@hotmail.com

Thanks, and please

Brian Russell





Top
#14693 - 03/16/05 02:56 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street
plumebody Offline


Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 1065
Loc: rochester,new york
I would start the project first and then ask your questions as they arise. The painless wiring system is fairly easy to install.

All wires are clearly labeled to their required destination. The kit comes with everything you need to get a car running and function.

I mounted my fuse box under the dash and ran the wiring to the engine throught the original hole in the firewall. The kit comes with various amp fuses depending on the circiut. It also has a 25 or 50 amp main fuse to protect the main board.
_________________________

Top
#14694 - 03/16/05 02:01 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: moparguy]
Ramrod39 Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 8120
Loc: Tucson, AZ
Quote:

How are the firewall blocks (not sure what they are called) The block that mates the internal harness with the engine harness




That's what I want to know, too. Anybody?

_________________________

Top
#14695 - 03/17/05 06:07 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: plumebody]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:

I would start the project first and then ask your questions as they arise. The painless wiring system is fairly easy to install.

All wires are clearly labeled to their required destination. The kit comes with everything you need to get a car running and function.

I mounted my fuse box under the dash and ran the wiring to the engine throught the original hole in the firewall. The kit comes with various amp fuses depending on the circiut. It also has a 25 or 50 amp main fuse to protect the main board.




Well, I started today! Got all the bundles run to their general connections. Now I need to figure out how the power runs to them and the switches and get new connectors. I'll bury you with questions in a day or so, but I'll try and include pics when possible. Unfortunately my car is an hour away from where I live so it's kind of a pain to get new pics, but I took some today. For now I have to celebrate by getting so drunk I see little green men everywhere

Top
#14696 - 03/17/05 06:35 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: Ramrod39]
70Duster360 Offline
super street

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 244
Loc: Crowley,TX
I used an EZwiring harness and they do not have a bulk head connector, they just pass through the firewall with a grommet. I just made a plate to cover the original bulk head hole with a new hole for the new harness and siliconed it in place.

Top
#14697 - 03/20/05 05:36 PM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street [Re: 70Duster360]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:

I used an EZwiring harness and they do not have a bulk head connector, they just pass through the firewall with a grommet. I just made a plate to cover the original bulk head hole with a new hole for the new harness and siliconed it in place.




That's what I plan on doing. That way if/when I have my car restored I can just pull the individual bundles through with their connectors by removing the plate.

Top
#14698 - 03/24/05 11:54 AM Re: anyone use a painless wiring kit for a street
Anonymous
Unregistered


Okay, as far as mounting the fuse box, where and how!?

I have mine temporarily mounted in the glove box because I'd like to keep it in that area. There's more space back there for the wires to branch out from then around the column, it's easy to get to, and that's where the original was. Where I have mine now I wouldn't really be able to use a glove box insert, plus the fuses aren't easy to read, and the wire juts straight down which there really isn't enough room to bend it out of sight. I guess I could cut all the zip ties and bend the wires outta the way and then re-ziptie them again out of sight. It's currently bolted through an existing hole in the dash lip with the mounting plate it came with underneath. The other bolt on the fuse box goes through the plate, too, but it's susupended. The mounting plate only contacts the car along that lip. I could drill some small holes in the lip and plate to further attach it to the car, but the rest of the mounting plate/fusebox would be hanging out. I'd have to put some kind of rubber matting between the lip and the wires to prevent them from rubbing through on the lip. Here's some pics of how it's currently mounted:


^^^^ Notice the wires jutting out underneath ^^^^


^^^^Notice the plate sticking out from underneath the fuse box to hold it up.^^^^



Another pic of the whole glove box and wires.

I'd like to try and mount it in the original location. I'm wondering if I got a longer bolt to go through the stock mounting "tab" and then got a long enough "L" bracket if I could bolt the "L" bracket to the right of the existing tab and have it extend far enough to bolt the upper fuse box bolt to. I don't think I'd have much trouble with it moving in that location because the existing tab should keep it from swinging the "L" bracket around. Also, I could use the mounting plate to help tie the two mounting points together. Any ideas, hints, tips?

I'll post some more about the various intracacies of the wiring in the coming days. Please check back as updates are made and throw out all your ideas. I'm hoping that with good pictures and ideas I can draw up a "how to" with pics for the tech archives section! (that is if this isn't a complete failure )

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,253 Registered Members
32 Forums
188,907 Topics
2,203,000 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Sled City Customer Service ??
by B G Racing
04/23/18 07:42 AM
383 build need to use adjustable rockers
by Crycho
04/23/18 06:14 AM
Rear brake adjusters on a 94 1500
by mopwrd340
04/23/18 12:25 AM
motorhome 727
by rhad
04/22/18 11:57 PM