06/03/11 01:43 PM
06/03/11 01:43 PM
Graz, Austria
DGS Offline OP
mopar
DGS  Offline OP
mopar

Graz, Austria
I'm trying to install an old 1965 AM/FM radio (mono sound) in my 70 Charger. After some research I discovered that the old speakers were 8 Ohm.
Since the radio output is very low (5 Watt?) I wanted to install an amp. Can I now use 4 Ohm speakers since they will be connected to the amp instead of the radio?
I want to put a 5 speaker setup in the Charger: 1 in the middle of the dash, 2 in the kick panels, and 2 in the package tray. Since the radio is a mono radio do I just need a 2-channel amp and hook up the 5 speakers in parallel?

Re: Old Radio with new amp + speakers [Re: DGS] #1005838
06/03/11 08:00 PM
06/03/11 08:00 PM
Florida
C
cataclysm80 Offline
master
cataclysm80  Offline
master
C

Florida
I'm not an expert, but I've fooled around with a few radios...

I'm thinking that your 1965 radio won't have any RCA pre-amp outputs on the head unit. That means that if you want an external amp, you'll need one with speaker level inputs to accept your radio's speaker wires. I think most amps come with these, but it would be good to check before purchasing your new amp.